LibGuides: Images on Glass: Overview

Introduction

Graphic images can be added to a piece of glass using several techniques, including sandblasting, enameling, painting, and gilding. Layered images can be created by combining techniques and fusing multiple imaged layers into a block.


Denise Stillwagon Leone, 2003 "Passing Through" (2005.4.26)	Ursula Huth, 1994 "MATARAM" (94.3.152)	Ena Rottenberg, 1927 Vase (73.3.21)	Jutta Cuny, 1982 "Vortex (Wirbel)" (91.3.63)

Terminology

Enamel - CMoG Glass Dictionary definition
A vitreous substance made of finely powdered glass colored with metallic oxide and suspended in an oily medium for ease of application with a brush. The medium burns away during firing in a low-temperature muffle kiln (about 965°-1300°F or 500°-700°C). Sometimes, several firings are required to fuse the different colors of an elaborately enameled object.
Click through for a full definition, alternate spellings, related terms, and artwork examples.
Fusing - CMoG Glass Dictionary definition
(1) The process of founding or melting the batch; (2) heating pieces of glass in a kiln or furnace until they bond (see Casting and Kiln forming); (3) heating enameled glasses until the enamel bonds with the surface of the object.
Click through for a full definition, alternate spellings, related terms, and artwork examples.
Gilding - CMoG Glass Dictionary definition
The process of decorating glass by the use of gold leaf, gold paint, or gold dust. The gilding can be applied with size, or amalgamated with mercury. It is then usually attached to the glass by heat. Gold leaf can be picked up on a gather of hot glass.
Click through for a full definition, alternate spellings, related terms, and artwork examples.
Sandblasting - CMoG Glass Dictionary definition
The process of removing glass or imparting a matte finish by bombardment with fine grains of sand that are propelled by compressed air.
Click through for a full definition, alternate spellings, related terms, and artwork examples.
CMoG Glass Dictionary
Please refer to the Glass Dictionary for more terms and definitions.
Dictionary of Glass by Charles Bray
2nd ed. Intended to be a reference source for individuals operating small glass workshops and studios. Background information on materials, process, and techniques.

Images on Glass: Overview

Introduction

Terminology

See also

Rakow Research Library Hours

Open by appointment only

Phone and Appointment Hours:

Research Consultations:

Museum Hours:

Find Answers to Your Glass Questions

Search Library Collections and More