Skip to main content

Plan your Research Visit: Overview

Information about conducting research at the Rakow Research Library, including using special collections, booking an appointment to research, policies and procedures, and how to find out what special collections we have.

Museum Closed until Further Notice

Important Note

Alert: Museum Closed to Public. May Cause Delays.The Corning Museum of Glass is closed to the public and all events and programs are canceled until further notice, as a precautionary measure for public health and safety. All previously scheduled classes, events, and programs are canceled. The Rakow Research Library will also be closed to researchers during this time. While our virtual reference service Ask a Glass Question remains open, response times may be longer than usual. Thank you for your patience.

Follow These Steps to Use Special Collections During Your Visit to the Rakow Research Library

You can visit the Library and use our Reference and Open Stacks materials without an appointment; however, materials in our Special Collections require you to make an appointment and register as a user of Special Collections materials. You can read our Library policies online.

To request materials (including Special Collections items) in advance of your visit, you can:

  1. Discover what we have through searching our catalog and archival finding aids.

  2. Once you have identified materials to view, request materials using our online form.

  3. If the list of items you have requested includes materials from our Special Collections, make an appointment at least 24 hours in advance of your visit to use those materials.

If you have questions or problems, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Exterior view of the Rakow Research Library, The Corning Museum of Glass.

Rakow Research Library

Closed Until Further Notice

Regular Hours:

9 am - 5 pm, Monday - Friday

12 pm - 5 pm, Saturday - Sunday

Reference desk:
Phone: 607.438.5300
Email:  rakow@cmog.org
Online: Ask a Glass Question

Text:    607.821.4029

Online:
https://www.cmog.org/research/library

Interlibrary Loan (ILL):
Email: ILL@cmog.org

Ask a Glass Question!

Search our Catalog