Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives & Special Collections at the Rakow Library: Preservation Tips

The Rakow Research Library is the world's most comprehensive glass research library. What's in special collections and archives? Find out by using this guide.

History in the Making: Preserving Your Archives

Your archives are an important part of your legacy. Take some time to store, conserve, and describe the materials you create and accumulate as a glass artist.


Store...

  • Your collection in a cool, dry location (around 60°F and 40% humidity) -- avoid the attic and basement 
  • Away from areas with pests, mold, water leaks, or risk of flooding and extremes in temperature
  • Materials in acid-free boxes, folders, and polyester sleeves (no PVC -- if it smells like a new shower curtain don't use it)
  • Digital files on hard drives and in the cloud -- CDs and DVDs do not last

Conserve...

  • By avoiding adhesives like tape, glue, sticky notes, and magnetic albums; rubber bands; and fasteners like staples and non-stainless steel paperclips
  • By handling with clean, dry hands as little as possible
  • By saving digital images in a high resolution and in file formats such as .pdf, .jpg, and .tif
  • By backing up your digital files and keeping multiple copies of your physical and digital collection in different geographic locations (and/or in the cloud)

Describe...

  • Photographs, slides, negatives, and audio/video recordings with people, places, dates, and what was happening at the time (pro tip: use full names, not 'Sam' or 'Mom and Dad')
  • Digital files with the same details as above, using a spreadsheet and detailed file names
  • Physical materials using a pencil with soft lead -- never pen or marker
  • Your materials clearly and consistently throughout your collection, to make it easier for you -- and people using your collection in the future -- to navigate

 

For More Information...

Ask Someone!

Contact the Rakow Library at rakow@cmog.org, (607) 438-5300, or http://libanswers.cmog.org/

Attend a preservation workshop at your local library

Consult experts at a regional preservation center (www.rap-arcc.org)