Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Leopold and Rudolf Blaschka – Glass Models: Overview

The 19th century glass makers Leopold Blaschka (1822-1895) and his son Rudolf (1857-1939) created glass models of plants and invertebrate animals. The early “sea creatures” were sold to universities around the world until 1886, when Harvard University com

Leopold and Rudolf Blaschka

Rudolf and Leopold Blaschka - Overview

The 19th century glass makers Leopold Blaschka (1822-1895) and his son Rudolf (1857-1939) created glass models of plants and invertebrate animals. The early “sea creatures” were sold to universities around the world until 1886, when Harvard University commissioned the “glass flowers.” Over fifty years (until 1936) the Blaschkas produced 4,200 one-of-a-kind botanical models for the Ware Collection of Blaschka Glass Models of Plants.

This Research Guide lists selected books, articles, and links to websites relating to the Blaschkas. It also links to pages describing The Leopold and Rudolf Blaschka Collection in the Rakow Research Library. This archive includes over 900 original art drawings made as studies for the Blaschka's glass models. It also includes dictionaries, travel books, correspondence, pictorial works, and photographs.

Blaschka Archive at the Rakow Research Library, The Corning Museum of Glass

The archives of Leopold and Rudolf Blaschka include over 900 original art drawings of plants and invertebrate animals made as studies for the Blaschka's glass models. The archive also includes dictionaries, travel books, correspondence, pictorial works, and photographs. The Museum acquired the majority of these items in the 1980s, and later purchased the remaining Blaschka studio materials jointly with the Botanical Museum of Harvard University.

Learn more about the Blaschkas' story and view the finding aid for the collection. Not all items in the collection are available digitally

Harvard: The Archives of Rudolf and Leopold Blaschka and the Ware Collection of Blaschka Glass Models of Plants

Find Answers to Your Glass Questions

Search Library Collections and More

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a cooperative library service that allows you to borrow materials through your local library.

For more information visit our ILL page or e-mail ILL@cmog.org.

Rakow Research Library Hours

Open by appointment only

Phone and Appointment Hours:
Monday-Thursday, 10:00am-4:00pm

Chat with a Librarian:
Monday-Thursday
10:00am-12:
00pm and 2pm-4pm

Research Consultations:
Hours vary. To see list of available appointment times, visit reserve.cmog.org.

Museum Hours:
See www.cmog.org.

Contact Us

Phone: (607) 438-5300
Text: (607) 821-4029
Email:  rakow@cmog.org
Online: Ask a Glass Question

Interlibrary Loan (ILL):

Email: ILL@cmog.org

Website:
https://www.cmog.org/research/library

Attention CMoG Studio Students!

Have questions? Schedule a consultation with a Llbrarian at the Rakow Library to get help researching a specific topic or using Library resources. You can also submit a specific question to Ask a Glass Question.

Want to use our collections? Schedule a consultation with a Librarian at the Rakow Library to discuss your interests and make an appointment to visit the library to use our collections. Then email rakow@cmog.org with a list of items to place on hold for you, and we'll do the legwork before your arrival.

Can't find a book or article at your local library? Use Interlibrary Loan to request materials from our collection and access thousands of digitized items through the Library catalog.

Meet with a Librarian

Want to visit the Rakow Research Library? Need help with a research project?
 

Chat with a Librarian

NEW! You can chat with a Librarian Monday through Thursday from 10-12 and 2-4! If chat is offline and you don't want to wait, you can always submit your question via Ask a Glass Question.