Sustainability and Glassmaking

This book explores the specific role that glazing technologies play within the world of smart architecture as important components of contemporary and future sustainable architectural and technological research. Smart Architecture begins with a definition of the concept of "smart" in architecture and examines how innovative technologies and materials have shaped buildings over the years. The author then provides a supporting database of contemporary smart architecture--mapping adopted strategies, recognizing common patterns, and evaluating current and future trends in the context of smart building envelopes, energy efficiency, and the development of high-potential innovative building components. The book proceeds with a focus on the specific role that glazing technologies play in this framework and provides a systematic methodology to quantify options for the effective integration of transparent building components within advanced and innovative building envelope systems.

As the concept of responsible building takes root, green architecture is becoming mainstream. In 'The Philosophy of Sustainable Design', Jason McLennan outlines the major ideas and issues that have emergend in the growing movement of green architecture and sustainable design over the last 30 years.

The first major monograph to be published on the firm, Rick Mather Architects explores the full scope of the 500 projects that the office has undertaken over the past 33 years. Best known for their award winning museum extensions, such as the Dulwich Picture Gallery and the National Maritime Museum, and their major new expansion to the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts in Richmond, USA, which is currently on site and due to complete in 2008, their portfolio spans a broad spectrum of projects including residential and student housing, masterplans, of which the first phase of their masterplan for London's South Bank is nearing completion, including both renovations and new buildings. Essays by leading architectural historian and former Dean of Architecture at Princeton, Robert Maxwell; architect and structural engineer Tim Macfarlane, renowned for his pioneering work in structural glass; and Patrick Bellew, distinguished for his commitment to 'green' engineering, form the backbone of this comprehensive and illuminating study. As a firm Rick Mather Architects bridges the space between the street and the interior, the old and the new, infusing their buildings with a distinct architectural identity. They are world renowned for their intuitive sense of place and context, as well as their pioneering technologies in structural glass and sustainable design. Rick Mather Architects draws on Mather's original plans and drawings and does full justice to the firm's unique subtlety.

Exploring a variety of topics ranging from coummunities to buildings to product design, the book explains for the first time, how the sustainable design field is influenced by women and women's ways of working.Women in Green explains the often overlooked roles women have played as key catalysts in sustainability. The book will help women and men understand the limitations of business as usual and suggest different approaches to solving today's complex problems.

The year 1973 marks one of the most important turning points in the history of the twentieth century. Prior to that year, the world had become accustomed to a plentiful supply of inexpensive fossil fuels--especially oil. During this first major international oil crisis, however, the western world's dependency on unstable eastern energy resources became dramatically clear. Published to accompany the comprehensive and enlightening 2008 exhibition, 1973: Sorry, Out of Gas, hosted by the Canadian Centre for Architecture in Montreal, this beautifully designed, frightening and strangely inspiring volume examines the oil crisis of 1973 as the major precedent of contemporary concerns about energy resources and fossil fuel dependency. The 1973 shortage triggered research and development of renewable energy sources, improved technologies and sparked social experiments that were to have an enduring impact on the fields of architecture and policy in both America and Europe. Put together by the acclaimed Italian book designer Massimo Pitis, this volume includes a monumental stash of documentary photographs, ephemera, documents, transcripts and original writings on all things related to the oil crisis--from Jimmy Carter to underground utopias. Reproductions cover everything from impossible traffic jams leading up to empty gas stations to board games with names like Energy Quest and Petrol. Specially conceived for this occasion, an illustrated tale by Harriet Russell, whose work is regularly featured in Time Out and the Guardian, introduces the ideas behind this book from a child's point of view. Russell's drawings depict ironic and humorous situations that will familiarize children with energy-saving and oil dependency concerns.

Global climate conditions demand a response by institutions that are here for the long haul--as museums are--to collect, preserve, and interpret in perpetuity. Environmentally friendly practices are crucial to the mission of our museums, which, as houses of preservation, are uniquely suited to modeling green behavior and sustainability. In The Green Museum, authors Sarah Brophy and Elizabeth Wylie offer a complete handbook to guide museum staff in incorporating green design into new construction and day-to-day operations. Sustainable practices can save on operating costs and even make museums attractive to new fundraising sources, as Brophy and Wylie show in case studies of museums that have already taken steps to become green. In this easy-to-read book, the authors demystify the process of going green, including detailed explanations of the basics of recycling, options for environmentally friendly exhibit design, and how to conduct energy audits. The Green Museum is full of practical information for museums of any size and a vital resource for every museum that wants to remain relevant in an increasingly green world. The Green Museum is printed with soy-based ink on recycled stock.

What do you call an architecture firm that draws inspiration from the most extreme aspects of nature and human psychology? When faced with this challenge in 1989, architect Franois Roche decided that the best way to express his firm's design philosophy would be to change its name every few years. Presently, the Paris-based practice goes by the name of R&Sie(n). Pronounced "heresy" in French, the firm's radical approachwhat they refer to as a "chameleon strategy"permeates everything theydo, right down to their gender-bending, morphed anti publicity photo. Led by Roche, R&Sie(n)'s investigative approach to architecture focuses on developing technological experimentscartographic distortions and territorial mutationsin order to explore the bond betweenbuilding, context, and human relations. Each building is a process, a dynamic device with the tenacity of a parasite that uses every means offered by architecture to perform an ecologically useful function. Bioreboot features nineteen projectsillustrated with extensive plans, photographs, and renderingsalong with essays and interviews, providing the most comprehensive monograph of this elusive, intriguing firm to date. Despite working with oppositional relationshipsmachinery versus nature, purity versuscorruption, paranoia versus rationalitytheirs is an architecture whose primary aim is the ecological and social improvement of the place in which it exists. The 2003 Mosquito Bottleneck project mixes objective paranoia with a desire for safety. Designed as a trap for dangerous, West Nile Fever-infected mosquitos, the intestinelike private home in Trinidad weaves together all of its surfacesfloor, facade, and roofwith plastic wire and shrink-wrap. (Un)Plug, a speculative skyscraper project commissioned in 2000 by the Parisian electricity company EDF, features a glass facade of swelling, photoelectric pustules that allow the building to gain enough solar energy to disconnect from the urban energygrid.Bioreboot is a thought-provoking leap into the future and a clarion call for the development of a new relationship between contemporary architecture and the world of nature.

An inspiring collection of 50 spectacular houses built almost entirely from glass, Glass Houses presents 50 stunning architect designed homes that utilize glass to maximum effect. The international selection includes early modernist houses from the 1930s, such as Philip Johnson's Glass House and Mies van der Rohe's Farnsworth House, and glamorous mid-century LA villas like Pierre Koenig's Case Study #22, alongside outstanding contemporary examples, where new innovations have made even more daring glass structures possible. Each house is celebrated with awe-inspiring photographs that showcase the dynamic, light-filled living spaces that only glass can deliver. Features homes in: Australia, Brazil, Chile, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Spain, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, The Netherlands, UK, USA, and Vietnam. Features architects including: Tatiana Bilbao, Lina Bo Bardi, Ofis Arhitekti, Herzog & de Meuron, Hiroshi Nakamura, Kazuyo Sejima, Philip Johnson, Mecanoo, John Lautner, Richard Rogers, and Ludwig Mies van der Rohe.

Covers the sustainable design of commercial buildings, green homes, and environmental building.