Researching Stained and Painted Glass

More than 700 designs for ecclesiastical stained glass produced by American studios during the first half of the 20th century. Most of the studios were located in New York State. Among the artists are Fred G. Wiedemann, Thomas Calvert, and Emil Zundel.

Designs by various artists, including Patrick A. Feeney(?), of John Hardman Studios. The designs are mostly modern and abstract in style, though some are of a more traditional form. A significant number are annotated in pencil or ink with their proposed locations.

Includes drawings, cartoons, photographs, slides, vendor files, client files and books.

Consists predominantly of materials related to projects on which the stained glass artist and designer worked.

This archive includes photographs of stained glass windows and churches, negatives, correspondence, articles, flyers, newsletters and some information on various churches.

Includes six volumes of photographs of cartoons for stained glass, 1904; a design book for stained glass containing approximately 750 original brown water color designs; a design book, 1900-1914, with original designs for stained glass and leaded windows that includes numerous fold-out patterns of various sizes; a sketch book, ca. 1914-15, containing original pencil sketches with minor water color additions for stained glass; photograph albums, mounted photographs of stained glass windows, and prints; and a scrapbook of stencils and designs for stencils.

Includes personal papers, scrapbooks, and artwork.

Approximately 300 individual items in all, mostly card mounted, produced by the firm for their various clients throughout the UK and overseas.

Includes design drawings for Garrett Memorial Chapel, circa 1930-1932, and assorted design drawings, 1895-1929.

These papers of a stained glass artist include business records (1903-2004) and personal papers and artifacts (1896-2010).

The Paul Marioni Papers primarily contains materials documenting his more than 30-year career as a glass artist, including information on commissions, exhibitions, grants and scholarships, awards and certificates, workshops presented and attended, conference agendas, clippings and articles and correspondence, both business-related and personal.

This mixed-media collection documents Robert Kehlmann’s career as an glass artist, art critic and author.

Papers of award-winning 20th-century stained glass artist known for abstract designs include biographical and personal information (1955-2017), World War II sketches and artwork (1939-2011), stained glass installation files (1952-2016), and illustrated published works (1956-1975).

The Robert Sowers Papers comprise a set of professional papers documenting Sowers's career as a stained glass artist and scholar.

The Stained Glass Association of America Records document the activities of a professional association for stained glass designers, fabricators, and studio owners.