LibGuides: Kilnworking: 3D Printing

Books

Makers: the new industrial revolution by Chris Anderson
Call Number: Stacks HB615 .A683 2012z
ISBN: 9780307720955
Publication Date: 2012
Notes: General info; not specifically about glassmaking. "Wired" magazine editor and bestselling author Anderson takes readers to the front lines of a new industrial revolution as today's entrepreneurs, using open source design and 3-D printing, bring manufacturing to the desktop.
Reference made to the beginning of the studio glass movement: p. 201-202.
Table of Contents: The invention revolution; The new industrial revolution; The history of the future; We are all designers now; The long tail of things; The tools of transformation: four desktop factories; Open hardware; Reinventing the biggest factories of all; The open organization; Financing the maker movement; Maker businesses; The factory in the Cloud; DIY biology; Epilogue: the new shape of the industrial world; Appendix: the 21st century workshop. Getting started with CAD; Getting started with 3-D printing; Getting started with 3-D scanning; Getting started with laser cutting; Getting started with CNC machines; Getting started with electronics.
Kiln-Formed Glass: Beyond the Basics by Brenda Griffith
Call Number: Stacks TP859.1 .G85b
ISBN: 9781454704164
Publication Date: 2014
"Best studio practices, techniques, projects". Table of Contents: Studio and best practices; Tools; Materials and methods; Airbrushing; Sandblast carving; Jewelry; Mold making and casting; 3-D printing; Fused boxes; Sand art; Ceramics; Mokume gane; Marbling; Making pastels; Beyond the kiln; Firing schedules. Includes 3-D printing, pp. 42, 45, 66, 150-163, 219.
3D Printing for Artists, Designers and Makers by Stephen Hoskins
Call Number: Stacks TS171.8 .H67 2013z
ISBN: 9781408173794
Publication Date: 2014
Notes: "Rapidly gaining popular attention, 3D printing is viewed as the next life changing technology. This book explains how the creative industries are directly interfacing with this new technology and how it is changing the practices of many artists and designers across the globe. A selection of case studies of leading practitioners in their respective disciplines reveals this exciting process in action. The book also introduces the groundbreaking research by Stephen Hoskins and his 3D team at the Centre for Fine Print Research, world leaders in the development of techniques for 3D printing in ceramics, and includes a history of 3D printing, from its origins in aerospace to its current, diverse applications in bio-medics and Formula One racing, through to furniture design and jewellery"--Page 4 of cover.
Table of Contents: The history of 3D printing in relation to the visual arts; An overview of current 3D printing technologies, what each offers and how they might develop in the future; Crafts and craftspeople; The fine arts; Design and designers: case studies from contemporary designers; The public face of 3D printing and its future in the arts: animators, hackspaces, geeks and fashion designers. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Digital Crafts: Industrial Technologies for Applied Artists and Designer Makers by Ann Marie Shillito
Call Number: Stacks N7433.8 .S55 2013z
ISBN: 9781408127773
Publication Date: 2013
Notes: "This book showcases ground-breaking methods and techniques that have been adapted from industry and are now being applied by designer-makers. To the uninitiated, these technologies may seem complex, but this book explains simply and clearly how they have developed, how they work, and their application. Packed full with case studies of artists using these processes, this book demonstrates that outstanding work is possible with the right equipment and know-how, and argues that designer makers have the mindset, skills and knowledge to creatively engage with these industrial technologies. The technologies covered include 2D and 3D digital designing and modelling (including CAD and processing), 3D printing (additive manufacture), reverse engineering (scanning and digitizing), CNC machining, laser and waterjet cutting. Featuring a breathtaking selection of work by contemporary makers--many of them early adopters of theses technologies--this book illustrates the exciting potential of these tools to add value to the maker's practice, as well as inspiring and extending their range of work"--Back cover. Variant Title: Industrial technologies for applied artists and designer makers. Includes bibliographical references and index. Includes glass art by Inge Panneels (p. 8, 60, 68, 76), Gayle Matthias (p. 94), and Geoffrey Mann (p. 98)

Selected Articles in the Rakow Library

Ganter, Mark A. "3D Printing Meets Glass," The Glass Art Society Journal, (2015), pp. 94-95. Take a look at how 3D printing cn be applied to a variety of activities associated with glass. Includes brief discussion of lost-wax process; 3D powder printing; etc.

Hernandez, Michael. "Putting the Tech in the Technique," GASNews, v. 26, issue 1, Spring 2015, p. 9.

Kahn, Sophie and Viviano, Norwood. “Labino Lecture: Digital Playground: The power of CAD and 3D Printing.” The Glass Art Society Journal, (2014), pp. 28-30. Notes: Focus on the artists' individual practices related to the emergence of 3D scanning, the manipulation of point cloud data to create new forms in a digital environment, and the range of available choices for 3D printer technologies. Location: PER NK5110. G23j

Matthias, Gayle and Jorgensen, Tavs. “Lecture: Glass Mold Innovation Through Collaborative Research.” The Glass Art Society Journal, (2014), pp. 46-47. Notes: The author discusses collaborative efforts from two different disciplines (artistic and technical) to create molds directly from 3D printing. Location: PER NK5110. G23j

Meszaros, Robert and others. “Three-Dimensional Printing of a Bioactive Glass.” Glass Technology, v. 52, no. 4 (Aug. 2011), pp. 111-116. Notes: European Journal of Glass Science and Technology, Part A. Location: PER TP845 .S67j

Trier, Ferdinand. “Digital Printing with Sol-Gel Inks.” Glass Worldwide, issue 25 (Sept./Oct. 2009), pp. 80-83. Notes: Includes the examination of the mechanics of digital printing onto non-conventional media and the suitability of printers. Location: PER TP845 .G55

Woodruff, Lindsay. “3-D Glass Printing Heats Up.” Glass, no. 141 (Winter 2015/2016), pp. 10-12. Notes: The UrbanGlass Art Quarterly. Author discusses work by MIT and Micron3DP that is moving 3-D glass printing closer to reality. Location: PER NK5110 .N54

Websites - search these sites for information about 3D printing with glass

3-D Print.com
"3DPrint.com is a news organization dedicated to bringing you up to date on all the latest news from the 3D printing industry."
3-D Print.com forum
3-D Printing.com
"3DPrinting.com was founded in 2011 and is a leading source for news, information & resources for anyone who is interested in 3D Printing."
3-D Printing Industry.com
"3D Printing Industry (3DPI) is a global media company providing a dedicated resource for anyone interested in 3D printing and 3D scanning — two fields of technology that are rapidly growing in relevance and application across industrial and consumer sectors.... The mission of 3DPI is to report on and create original content centered around the latest developments in 3D printing and 3D scanning to keep our large and growing audience abreast of technology breakthroughs, the latest applications and the opinions of industry insiders."
Mediated Matter group (MIT)
MIT Media Lab. "We seek to establish new forms of design and novel processes of material practice at the intersection of computer science, material engineering, design and ecology, with broad applications across multiple scales."
MIT - more information
Also, look at earlier experiments for kilnworking
MIT Researchers are now 3D-Printing Glass
Biggs, John. “MIT researchers are now 3D-printing glass,” TechCrunch (Oath Tech Network), Dec. 31, 2018
Open 3DP
An open 3D printing forum

Videos

Glass in Action [videorecording]: [Design & 3D printing]. [Downingtown, Pa.: Glass in Action, n.d., 2007-2010?]. By Igal Kapstan. 1 videodisc (7 min.)

Notes: Title provided by artist. No narration, only background music. Igal Kapstan was born in Kishinev Moldova (formerly part of the Soviet Union) and lived most of his life in Israel where he received his degree in mechanical engineering. For the last twelve years he and his family have lived in Pennsylvania. Video of a design being created by glass artist Igal Kapstan using MicroStation V8i, software graphics.

Record Number:113776

Audio/Video Collection - Glass in Action: Design & 3D printing

Artist in residence: Norwood Viviano, The Corning Museum of Glass
Notes: Norwood Viviano uses digital 3D modeling and printing technology in combination with the casting process to create his sculptural works. In his March 2012 Residency at The Studio, Viviano plans to create urban and/or industrial landscapes out of kiln-cast glass as an extension of his previous installations. His work will focus on smaller Midwestern industrialized cities that witnessed a huge population exodus during the second half of the 20th century, and West Coast and Southern cities that went through a transition of population growth, loss, and re-growth during the same period. Note: Filmed at The Studio, The Corning Museum of Glass, March 22, 2012.

3D Printing - Ceramics

Mark Ganter, of the University of Washington, Printing Ceramics
Ganter has also explored printing glass
Make your own Ceramic 3D Printer, Jonathan Keep:
More information: More information: https://www.keep-art.co.uk/Self_build.html