More than 700 designs for ecclesiastical stained glass produced by American studios during the first half of the 20th century. Most of the studios were located in New York State. Among the artists are Fred G. Wiedemann, Thomas Calvert, and Emil Zundel.
Designs by various artists, including Patrick A. Feeney(?), of John Hardman Studios. The designs are mostly modern and abstract in style, though some are of a more traditional form. A significant number are annotated in pencil or ink with their proposed locations.
Includes six volumes of photographs of cartoons for stained glass, 1904; a design book for stained glass containing approximately 750 original brown water color designs; a design book, 1900-1914, with original designs for stained glass and leaded windows that includes numerous fold-out patterns of various sizes; a sketch book, ca. 1914-15, containing original pencil sketches with minor water color additions for stained glass; photograph albums, mounted photographs of stained glass windows, and prints; and a scrapbook of stencils and designs for stencils.
The Paul Marioni Papers primarily contains materials documenting his more than 30-year career as a glass artist, including information on commissions, exhibitions, grants and scholarships, awards and certificates, workshops presented and attended, conference agendas, clippings and articles and correspondence, both business-related and personal.
Papers of award-winning 20th-century stained glass artist known for abstract designs include biographical and personal information (1955-2017), World War II sketches and artwork (1939-2011), stained glass installation files (1952-2016), and illustrated published works (1956-1975).
Charles J. Connick Records: Gouaches The Boston Public Library's collection includes 2,150 studies for these windows, along with over 10,000 black and white photographs of Connick windows, both completed and in process.
Charles J. Connick papers, 1901-1949. Smithsonian Archives of American Art. Biographical materials, correspondence, notebooks, diaries, writings, sketches and drawings, photographs, and printed material. (OCLC #81339411)
Emil Frei papers, 1885-1967. Business records of stained glass companies owned by the Freis; diaries of Emil, Jr.; correspondence; sketchbooks; scrapbooks; photographs of the Freis, their family and friends, and of their works; exhibition catalogs; commission records for Emil Frei Associates, St. Louis, Missouri; and records of the Ravenna Mosaic Co., New York, N.Y., also owned by the Freis. Smithsonian Archives of American Art.
Tiffany: There is no known archive or index which documents all of the Tiffany stained glass windows.
Archives for Tiffany & Co. (the store) Contact the archives. According to the firm’s website, they have little information pertaining to objects made by Tiffany Studio, and its predecessors. Louis Comfort Tiffany was the son of Charles Tiffany, the founder of the store “Tiffany & Co.” The Tiffany & Co. archives have only material pertaining to the jewelry designed by Louis Comfort Tiffany. However, there is a chronology for Tiffany on the website of the Morse Museum, which can sometimes add to information about specific commissions. http://www.morsemuseum.org/chronology. <
Jessie Van Brunt papers, 1910-1942. Material relating mainly to over 40 windows designed by Van Brunt. Included are 2 scrapbooks and unbound scrapbook material containing photographs, watercolor designs, correspondence and dedication brochures. Also included are clippings, a review of her book CALIFORNIA MISSIONS, 1932, color proofs for reproductions of her work, and a drawing depicting children from around the world. Smithsonian Archives of American Art.
Wilbur H. Burnham Studios
Wilbur H. Burnham Studios records, circa 1904-1991. Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution. Finding Aid
Willet Archives Free Library of Philadelphia. Biographical material; photographs; correspondence; printed material; writings; financial material and scrapbooks. Smithsonian Archives of American Art holds a microfilm copy of this collection.
Local call number: NK5300 .S78 (Periodicals)
Published first as The Monthly Visitor in 1906, this periodical from the Stained Glass Association of America has changed titles several times over the years as well as expanded in scope from a trade journal to a more comprehensive record of the stained glass field.