Glass Jewelry: Jewelry through History - brief overview

Includes glass beads and jewelry made with glass and/or glass paste throughout. In English and Russian

Beads and other jewelry

Glass, pp. 14, 39-40.

Egyptian gold jewelry is often embellished with glass

Glass, enamel and faience: p. 123-37.

Vol. 3 includes Roman pendants & jewelry; Contents: v. 1. Objects formed by casting or pressing -- Vessels formed by casting and blowing -- Cameo glass -- Blown vessels without decoration -- Objects with picked-up or blobbed decoration -- Cut, engraved and wheel-abraded objects. -- v. 2. Objects with mold-blown ornament or inscriptions -- Objects with applied ornament -- Gold glasses -- Painted and gilded glass. -- v. 3. Pendants and disks with stamped ornament -- Miscellaneous small objects -- Imitations and forgeries -- Addenda -- Ceramic copies of the Portland vase -- Chemical analyses.

Examines the Iroquois beaded bags, commonly sold as souvenirs at Niagra Falls, as examples of the historical development of beadwork, as an art form, and as the basis for a subsistence economy among Indian women in New York and eastern Canada.

Glass beads (pp. 9, 61, 76, 157, and 177).

Many of the pieces illustrated include glass beads

Contents: African beaded art : power and adornment -- Historical context -- Yoruba: Nigeria (West Africa) -- Bamum, Bamileke: Cameroon grasslands (West Africa) -- Kuba, Luba, Penda, Yaka: Kasai Region (Centeral Africa) ;--North Nguni, South Nguni, Ndebele: Cape Region (South Africa).

Glass: 15-16, [37], 42-44, 63-64, 78-79, 95-96, [101], 103-104. Jewelry from India.
Contents: Who wore jewellery and why -- Precious stones to serpents' bones -- Makers and techniques, tradition and transformation -- The genesis of a collection: a tale of two museums -- Indian jewellery in Victorian Britain: demand, availability and influence -- The making of the V&A's collection: 1880 to the present day.

Includes stained glass panels depicting medieval jewelry.

Contents: The great dream of a new world / Christianne Weber-Stöber -- Fashion trends in 1925 / Adelheid Rasche -- Jewellery and accessories -- Artist and costume jewellery -- Metal art.

Glass: p. [119], 238, [260-261, 281, 298], 314, 323-[325]. Lalique's illuminated crystal fountain, 1925 Paris Exposition: p. [52].
Includes biographical information on jewelry designers.

Contents: Art nouveau jewelry: an overview / Yvonne J. Markowitz -- Symbols and motifs in art nouveau jewelry / Elyse Zorn Karlin -- Flora -- Fauna -- The human figure -- Artist biographies / Susan Ward -- Checklist and figure illustrations -- Glossary of jewelry terms / Toni Strassler. Includes glass jewelry

Contents: Lalique epoch / Yvonne Brunhammer -- Physics and the metaphysics of jewelry : "something that has never been seen before" / Marie-Odile Briot -- Reception of René Lalique in America : 1901-1920 / Gabriel P. Weisberg -- Lalique and fashion / Florence Müller -- Materials and techniques in the jewelry of René Lalique / Sigrid Barten -- Landscape in the work of René Lalique / Evelyne Possémé -- Objets d'art and glassmaking : René Lalique's contribution in the early twentieth century / Jean-Luc Olivié -- List of works / Yvonne Brunhammer and Joan T. Rosasco -- Chronology / Yvonne Brunhammer and Clémentine Vidal.

Contents: The age of Lalique / Yvonne Brunhammer -- The quest for modern jewellery / Yvonne Brunhammer -- Catalogue / Yvonne Brunhammer -- René Lalique in the Calouste Gulbenkian collection: from materials to technical virtuosity / Maria Fernanda Passos Leite -- A symbolist "cosmogony" of woman / Yvonne Brunhammer -- Catalogue / Yvonne Brunhammer, Marie-Laure Perrin -- Annette's salad and Turner's locomotive: a brief study of "Japonisme" in literature / René de Ceccatty -- Images of nature / Dany Sautot -- Catalogue / Dany Sautot -- 1900-1912 / Yvonne Brunhammer -- Catalogue / Yvonne Brunhammer, Marie-Laure Perrin -- Chronology 1860-1945 / Yvonne Brunhammer, Marie-Laure Perrin -- General bibliography -- Exhibitions mentioned in the descriptions of works.

Entirely illustrations.

Glass: p. 234, 398; micromosaic jewelry: p. 240, 242-243, 248, 350.

Includes: Bohemian glass jewelry (p. 16-17). French jet (p. 14, 23, 20-31.) Egyptian glass (p. 28). Czech crystals (p. 58-59). Czech enamel (p. 54-55). Glass materials (p. 66). Crystal brooches (p. 93). Blown-glass beads (p. 100). Glass beads (p. 101, 115, 148-149, 170-171, 192, 201). Pâte de verre (p. 102, 186, 198). Venetian glass stones (122-123). Glass jewelry (p. 178-187). Examples of glass jewelry, beads, and materials throughout book.
Contents: Victorian era & Art Nouveau (1837-1914) -- Art Deco & prewar (1920-1935) -- Post-depression & the war years (1936-1949) -- The fifties (1950-1959) -- The sixties & seventies (1960-1979) -- The eighties & nineties (1980-1999) -- Into the twenty-first century (2000-present) -- Collecting vintage costume jewelry.

Includes jewelry made with glass beads and cut crystals.
Contents: A precious alloy: haute couture and haute parure -- The prehistory of costume jewelry: imitation -- Haute couture confers a title of nobility on costume jewelry -- The artists of the jewel -- The couture houses -- The paruriers -- The jewelry trade and its demands.

. /. Aylesbury (Bucks, England): Shire Publications, 1980. Print.