Glass Jewelry: Types of Jewelry

Contents:
The brooch: from daily essential to enduring jewel -- History -- Craft -- Collecting -- Style -- Pin-ology -- Care.
Includes: Example of black glass substitute known as French jet (p. 31). Glass tesserae (p. 34). Stained pressed glass (p. 56). Beaded brooches (p. 177). Micromosaics (p. 34-35, 111). Reverse intaglio crystals (p. 108-109). René Lalique brooch (p. 56).

Glass gems: no. 22-28, 71, 129-135, 166, 402-427, 436-437, 443.
Contents: Guide to the catalogue descriptions -- Shapes -- Materials -- Plates -- Greek gems -- Greek rings -- Near Eastern and Phoenician seals -- Graeco-Phoenician scarabs -- Graeco-Persian gems -- Achaemenid glass conoids, scaraboids, and tabloids -- Achaemendid rings -- Etruscan scarabs -- Italic, late Hellenistic, and Roman gems -- Roman rings -- Glass gems -- Roman cameos -- Sasanian gems -- Greek and Roman sealings.

Contents: v. 1. Text -- v. 2. Illustrations.
Tests of antiquity in engraved gems, and the instruments used by the ancient engravers -- On the forms of antique gems -- Cylinders: Assyrian, Babylonian, Persian -- Babylonian and Assyrian deities -- Cones and hemispherical seals -- Indian engraved gems -- Modern oriental engraving -- Egyptian intagli -- Etruscan, Greek, and Phoenician scarabei -- Scarabei of Tharros -- Phoenician intagli -- Köhler's classification of Etruscan scarabei -- Etruscan art -- Greek and Roman glyptic art -- The portraiture of the ancients -- General observations -- Astrological subjects -- Signa orientia -- Subjects of the designs on gems -- Cameo engravings -- Lower Empire and Byzantine camei -- Complimentary or inscription camei -- Barbaric camei -- Works "en ronde bosse": phalerae -- Camei of the revival -- Rings, their origin and use -- Iron rings -- Silver and other metal rings -- Figure rings -- Stone rings -- Magic rings -- Papal and episcopal rings -- Bulls -- Gimmel rings -- Die-sinkers and gem-engravers -- Gem-engravers, ancient -- Modern gem-engravers -- English gem-engravers -- Seals in terra-cottaL tesserae -- Casts in plaster of Paris and in sulphur -- Works upon the glyptic art and cabinets of gems.
Hathi Trust has a digital version of a copy owned by the Getty Research Institute, SEE LINK BELOW

See index for entries: Glass; Glass Paste.

Instructions for making beaded handbags. Enlarged reprint of the booklet originally published by Dritz-Traum Co., New York, 1925.
The Rakow Library also has original editions of Dritz-Traum publications.

Contents: The evolution of the beaded purse -- Restoration tools and techniques -- Knowing about the glorious beads -- Fringing: the finishing touch -- Restoring body damage -- The importance of frames and linings -- Evaluating and collecting patterns.

Includes glass beads, glass paste and mosaic (see index).

Fragrance vessels designed to be worn as ornamentation.
Summary: Discusses the history of aromatic jewelry in general; includes specific information on pomanders, smelling boxes, the pendant flacon, and the chatelaine; concludes with contemporary amulet designs.

"A step-by-step visual directory, with an inspirational gallery of finished works."
Includes smalti and micromosaics.

Includes a chapter on micromosaic jewelry

Includes tables, pictures, snuffboxes, plaques, jewelry in 2 sections: by known artists, and by unknown artists arranged by type.
See the Rakow Library catalog for additional books about this collection at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art.

"Focusing on 30 highlights from the V&A's superlative Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Collection, which includes some of the finest examples of micromosaics made, this new book explores the technical aspects of micromosaic construction, its roots in antiquity, their incredible popularity in the last quarter of the eighteenth century, and their evolution through the nineteenth century until the technique virtually vanished in the early 1900s."

Describes course in Venice, Italy.
[Groutline is a publication of the Society of American Mosaic Artists]