Leopold and Rudolf Blaschka – Glass Models: Websites

This text was published in Drawing upon Nature: Studies for the Blaschkas’ Glass Models by Susan M. Rossi-Wilcox and David Whitehouse (Corning, NY: Corning Museum of Glass, 2007).

This text was published in Drawing upon Nature: Studies for the Blaschkas’ Glass Models by Susan M. Rossi-Wilcox and David Whitehouse (Corning, NY: Corning Museum of Glass, 2007).

Describes the 2007 exhibition at CMoG

"A father-and-son team created a menagerie of incredible glass models using mysterious methods." Atlas Obscura & CMoG

Article about the Rakow Library's Blaschka invertebrate drawings

Description of the exhibition of glass marine invertebrate models by Leopold and Rudolf Blaschka, developed during the 19th century to study sea creatures. "Fragile Legacy: The Marine Invertebrate Glass Models of Leopold and Rudolf Blaschka" was on view 2016-2017.

CMoG blog article

Description, photos and videos of the glass flower collection at Harvard

The Museum of Comparative Zoology collection of Blaschka Glass Invertebrates contains approximately 430 models of marine and terrestrial invertebrates, including sea anemones, jelly fish, octopus, sea cucumbers, marine worms and land snails.

An online exhibit about processing the Archives of Rudolf and Leopold Blaschka and the Ware Collection of Blaschka Glass Models of Plants.

Brief description of the collection

Article by By Donald H. Pfister and Jennifer Brown, of theHarvard University Herbaria, in the Journal of Antiques and Collectibles, posted JUNE 29, 2020

Article by Abigail Cain in Artsy.net, published Oct 20, 2017

Illustrations of Blaschka models of sea anemones in the Australian Museum Archives collection. Includes links to additional articles and 3-D images.

Includes a link to Blaschka models and a gallery of some of the real-life Blaschka matches found by scientists

In the 1860s, the father and son team of Leopold and Rudolf Blaschka created...intricate glass replicas of marine invertebrates to supply museums and universities. Dr. Drew Harvell began to restore Cornell University’s and now strives to find the living inspiration for the glass models in modern oceans. Article illustrates possible matches.

NYTimes article: Drew Harvel from Cornell uses "the Blaschka collection as a time capsule, to take a snapshot of change. How many of these creatures that were so common 150 years ago can still be found today?"

Blaschka Models at the museum

Description of the Blaschka invertebrate collections at Cornell University

The collections of the National Museums Wales/Amgueddfa Cymru. Includes images

Report on the Blaschka models at U. Wisconsin-Madison

Blog post by David Owen Brown who produced, wrote and directed the film Fragile Legacy.

Lifeforms 2016 is an exhibition of glass models made in the spirit of Leopold and Rudolf Blaschkas’ famous marine invertebrate and botanical models.

Includes Blaschka jellyfish model

Photogrammetry and CT models by Peter Fried were made from the collections, at Cornell & Harvard, of the hundred-year-old glass sculptures of Rudolf and Leopold Blaschka.

Article describes the Blaschkas and the meticulously detailed marine invertebrate models fashioned between 1863 and 1890 for the primary purpose of research and education. Collectively, their work depicts more than 700 different species — including various anemones, squids and sea stars — found in waters around the globe.

JSTOR: "The Blaschka Legacy in Worldwide Collections: A New Resource." by
Alexandra Ruggiero and Katherine A. Larson. Journal of Glass Studies, v. 59 (2017), pp. 419-428 (10 pages)