Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Flameworking/Lampworking: Lampworking History

Introduction to library resources on flameworking/lampworking techniques. More information is available through the library catalog or by using the Rakow's Ask a Librarian service.

Selected recent books about the history of lampworking (and contemporary makers). For information about specific topics (Nevers figures, itinerant glassblowers, contemporary lampworkers), please contact the Rakow Library for a bibliography

Videos and online articles

Lampworking history - books and articles

Bergstrom-Mahler Museum. Coaxing the Flame: An Exhibition of International Lampwork from Selected Collections. Exhibition, May 7-Oct. 31, 1994. Neenah, WI: the museum, 1994. 6 p. NK5198.B49c

Birkhill, Fred. "A Concise History of Lampworking." Glass Art Society Journal, 1984-85, pp. 146-149. Periodicals PER

Birkhill, Fred. "A Concise History of Lampworking." Proceedings: The Thirtieth Symposium and Exhibition on the Art of Glassblowing. Toledo, OH: The American Scientific Glassblowers Society, 1985. Secured Stacks TP859.A51.1982

Darmstadt. Hessisches Landesmuseum. Glaskunst im Bann der Farbe, II: Vor der Lampe geblasenes Glas. Ausstellung. Darmstadt, the museum, 1978. 47 p. History and 20th c. NK5110.D22.Bd.2

Deese, Martha. "Working Glass at the Lamp." Glass Club Bulletin, no. 147, Fall 1985, pp. 6-11; no. 148, Winter 1985, pp. 9-14. Periodicals PER

Dunham, Bandhu Scott. Formed of fire: selections in contemporary lampworked glass. Prescott, AZ: Salusa Glassworks, 2002. NK5198.D91

Frantal, Zdenek. "Almost Seventy and Still So Young." For You From Czechoslovakia, no. 1, March 1988, pp. 65-67. (20th c. Czech lampworkers)

Frauenau. Glasmuseum. Lampengeblasenes Glas: Geschichte, Technologie: die Glasbläserei Schmid. Frauenau: the museum, 1985. 50 p. TP859.2.F84

Frost, J. A. "The Glassblower and His Lamp." Proceedings: The Thirtieth Symposium and Exhibition on the Art of Glassblowing. Toledo, OH: The American Scientific Glassblowers Society, 1985, pp. 23-28. Secured Stacks TP859.A51.1985

Galerie am Fischmarkt. Schmuck und Glas Erfurt '84. Erfurt: Galerie am Fischmarkt, 1984. 91 pp. (Symposium in Nov. 1980 and May 1983. Includes contemporary lampworked German artists. NK5150.G149s

Galerie am Fischmarkt. Thüringer Glaskünstler von 1945 bis 1960: Personlichkeiten und Tendenzen in der Glaskunst des Thüringer Waldes von 1945 bis 1960. Erfurt: Galerie am Fischmarkt, 1985. 20 p. Includes lampworked glass. NK5150.G149

Galerie Monica Borgward. Neues Glas vor der Lampe geblasen. Bremen: Galerie Monica Borgward, 1990. [ca. 100 pp.] NK5198.G156

Glas-Galerie (Luzern). Glas vor der Lampe geblasen. Ausstellung, 12 Nov. 1982-22 Jan. 1983. Text by Fritz Kämpfer. Luzern: Glas-Galerie, 1982. 19 p. 19 German and Swiss artists. NK5198.G546

Glas vor der Lampe. Ein Berichte zur Ausstellung bei J. & L. Lobmeyr, Wien, und über das Seminar im Glasstudio, Franzensbad, Baden b. Wien. Wien: J. & L. Lobmeyr, 1977. 18 p. NK5198.B548.1977

Hajdamach, Charles. British glass 1800-1914. Woodbridge, Suffolk, England: Antique Collector’s Club, 1991, pp.. 379-390. Ready Reference NK5143.H15

Hall, Lewis Philip. "Remember? The Bohemian Glass Blowers." Gatherings, v. 13, no. 1, Feb. 1989, p. 7. Periodicals PER
Hoffmann, Rudolf. Thüringer Glas aus Lauscha und Umgebung. Leipzig: E.A. Seemann, 1993. 195 p. CMGL: NK5150.H71g

Holl, Friedrich. "Glasmacherfreuden." Volkskunst, v. 3, no.1, Jan.-Feb. 1980, pp. 49-55. Periodicals PER

Holt, Rowan van der. “Flameworking Past and Present.” Glass Network, issue 49 (Sept. 2013), pp. 2-3, ill. Contemporary Glass Society, U.K. Historical overview, with focus on the contemporary lampworking scene in the United Kingdom. Periodicals PER NK5143.G55

Hopman, Rebecca. “Gathering a Crowd: A Look at Glassmaking Demonstrations of the Past.” The Glass Art Society Journal (2017): n. pag.

Horn, Helena. 400 Jahre Glas aus Thüringia: Die Sammlung des Museums für Glaskunst, Lauscha. Lauscha: the Museum, 1995. NK5102.5.L3.H81

Höhn, Heidi. Kunst aus der Flamme: zeitgenössisches Lampenglas in Europa, von Heidi Höhn, André Gutgesell. 1. Auflage. Coburg: Heidi Höhn and André Gutgesell, [2014]. 139 pages. Notes: Includes a foreword by Clementine Schack von Wittenau and an essay by Elias Schwegler-Juen. Includes bibliographical references (pages 129-132). Artists: John Zinner, Cesare Toffolo, James Lethbridge, Lucio Bubacco, Hermann Ritterswurden, Anne-Claude Jeitz & Alain Calliste, Nadja  Recknagel, Susan Liebold, Katharina Kleinfeld, Jorg Hanowski, Julia Malle, Bernd Weinmayer, Helga Seimel, Davide Penso, Nicole Zumkeller & Eric Seydoux, Diana East, Michaela Koppl, Michi Suzuki, Julie Anne Denton, Michaela Moller, Anita & Elias Schwegler-Juen, Astrid Riedel, Anastasia (Anja Basan), Carla di Francesco, Claudia Trimbur-Pagel, Manuela Wutschke, Melanie Moertel, and Amanda Muddimer. Location: NK5142.H71 2014

Hughes, Bernard. "Glass Toys for Georgian Grown-ups." Country Life, May 25, 1972, pp. 1332-1333. VF: Glassmaking—Lampworking—History

Hylen, Beth. “At the lamp.” The Flow, Summer 2010, p. 42-44+, ill. Notes: Lampworking studio and equipment (tables, lamps, blowpipes, bellows), 17th-19th centuries. Illustrations provide significant additional information. Periodicals PER TP859.2.F64 ; Also online: <https://www.cmog.org/article/lamp>

John, Walter. "Glasspinnerei im Isergebirge." Beiträge zur Geschichte der Isergebirgler und_ no. 5, 1984, pp. 8-21.

Lanmon, Dwight P. The Robert Lehman Collection, v. XI: Glass. New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art in association with Princeton Press, 1993. Historical overview, pp. 231-266; with examples from the Metropolitan Museum of Art collection, which has many Nevers figures. NK5102.N5.L29

"Kleine Kunstwerke aus Luft und Glas." Heimatwerk, v. 19, no. 4, Dec. 1954, pp..110-113. Periodicals PER

Museum für Glaskunst Lauscha. Begleitschrift. Text: Rudolf Hoffman. Lauscha: the museum, [1979?] 32 pp. Museum collection, history of Lauscha glassmaking and contemporary workers. <NK5102.5.L3.L38b>

Lierke, Rosemarie. "Early History of Lampworking-Some Facts, Findings and Theories." Part 1: Kunckel's description of lampworking in the Arts Vitraria Experimentalis." Glastechnische Berichte, v. 63, no. 12, 1990, pp. 363-369, Part 2: v. 65, no. 12, 1992, pp. 341-348. (Lampworking techniques in antiquity) Periodicals PER

Lierke, Rosemarie. "Auf der Suche nach Lampenarbeit in der Geschichte." Annales du 12e Congrès de l'Association Internationale pour l'Histoire du Verre. Amsterdam: A.I.H.V., 1993, pp. 33-43. Stacks; Secured Stacks NK5100.A84.v.12

Maternova, Vera. "Zpracovani skla nad lampou." Ars Vitraria, v. 7, 1982, pp. 88-99. In Czech with English summary. Lampworked production of beads, buttons, and imitation stones in Jablonec nad Nisou. Periodicals PER

Matsumura, Kiyoshi. Bānā wāku : Sanso bānā o tsukatta tainetsu garasu kōbō = Flameworking, with borosilicate glass. Tōkyō: Horupu Shuppan, 2007. Secured Stacks TP859.2.M43

Mickelson, Robert A. "Breve storia del vetro a lume = A Brief history of lampworking." Vetro, v. 1, no. 6, June 1998, pp. 48-53. In Italian and English. Periodicals PER

Minson, James. "Contemporary Lampworking: An International Overview." The Glass Art Society Journal, 1991, pp. 72-75. Periodicals PER

Minson, James. "Lampworked Glass Outside of Europe." Neues Glas, no. 4, 1991, pp. 16-25. Periodicals PER

Moyer, Kathleen M. "Evolution of an Art Form: Lampwork and Torchwork." Annual Bulletin of the Paperweight Collectors' Association, 1992, pp. 37-43. Periodicals PER

"Mundgeblasene Schweizer Christbaumkugeln." Heimatwerk, v. 17, no. 4, Dec. 1952, pp. 99-102. Periodicals PER

"Neue Glaskugeln für den Weihnachtsbaum." Heimatwerk, v. 35, no. 4, Dec. 1970, p. 135. Periodicals PER

Nicola, G. and Helmut Ricke. "Hinter den Bergen und Wäldern: Der Glasmacherort Lauscha/DDR: The Glassblowers' Village, Lauscha, GDR." Neues Glas, April/June 1983, pp. 54-57. (In German and English). Periodicals PER

Palmer, Arlene. "Some Notes on Fancy Glass Artists." Glass Club Bulletin, no. 161, Spring 1990, pp. 11-13. 19th c. lampworking demonstrations by traveling troupes. Periodicals PER

Ricke, Helmut. "Die Kunst der kleinen Form: Glasgestaltung vor der Lampe." Neues Glas, no. 1, April 1980, pp. 28-35. Periodicals PER

Ricke, Helmut. "Die Lauschaer Kunstglasbläser/The Glass Blowers of Lauscha." Neues Glas, no. 2, April/June 1983, pp. 57-67. (In German and English). Periodicals PER

Ritzer, J.E., Sr. "History of the Glass Lab." American Scientific Glassblowers Society, v. 11, Feb. 1964, pp. 24-25. VF: Glass making—Lampworking

Schack von Wittenau, Clementine. Glas zwischen Kunsthandwerk und Industrie-Design; Studien über Herstellungsarten und Formtypen des deutschen Jugendstilglases. Köln, 1971. 311 p. Note: Chapter 2: Lampworked objects, p. 38-45; text only. (* CMGL does not have the volume with illustrations referred to in the text). NK5150.S28

Taylor, Gay LeCleire. "Flowers from Flame: American Lampwork Paperweights." Annual Bulletin of the Paperweight Collectors' Association 1985, pp. 36-39. Periodicals PER

"Thuringer Tiere." Antiquitäten Zeitung, no. 9, 1982, p. 242. Note: Lampworked animals. Periodicals PER

Vodicka, Zdenek. "About the Glass Castle." Czechoslovak Glass Review, v. 12, no. 3, 1957, n.p. Note: Lampworked figurines made at Zelezny Brod. Periodicals PER

Vodicka, Zdenek. "Über Weltall, Phantasie und Glas." Tschechoslowakische Glasrevue, v. 16, no. 8, 1961, pp. 244-246. Periodicals PER

Williams, Lawrence. "The History and Technology of Novelty Lampworking: A Story of History of Novelty Lampwork." Fusion, August 1969, pp. 37-38; November 1969, pp. 25-26. VF: Glassmaking--Lampworking

Wright, Virginia. "The Intrepid Troupers." Glass Club Bulletin, no. 174, Fall/Winter, 1994, pp. 5-11. Periodicals PER

Zecchin, Sandro. “Le travail d'objets en verre à la lampe en Europe jusqu'au XIX siècle.” Eclats de Verre, no. 20 (nov. 2012), pp. 36-41, ill. Venice, Innsbruck (Austria), Florence, Nevers, Amsterdam, Germany. Note: Footnotes lead to additional references. Periodicals PER TP854.E8.E19

 


 

[Early 17th century pen and ink drawing of interior with lampworker at table] [art original]. CMGL121962