Skip to main content

Corning, New York: The Crystal City: Steuben Glass

This guide focuses on the glass-related history of the Corning, New York, and surrounding area, including local resources, special collections, and topics unique to Corning's glass history.

Brief Overview of Steuben Glass

Steuben Glass Works (1903-1918)

Steuben Glass Works, 1907

When Frederick Carder (1863-1963) visited Corning, New York, in 1903, he met with Thomas G. Hawkes, who had been operating a successful glass-cutting firm, T. G. Hawkes & Company, in Corning since 1880. At the encouragement of Hawkes, Carder moved from England to Corning, and together they founded Steuben Glass Works in 1903.

Initially, Steuben Glass Works focused on producing blanks for T. G. Hawkes & Co.; however, Carder continued to experiment with color, and in 1904, he registered "Aurene" with the U.S. patent office.

Steuben Glass Works continued to expand in the years before the First World War. It continued to produce blanks for Hawkes, but also produced decorative glass in a range of colors, as well as cut glass and lighting.

In January 1918, Steuben Glass Works became a division of Corning Glass Works. (Carder remained with the Steuben Division until 1932.)

Image: [Exterior of Steuben Glass Works buildings], 1907, Rakow Research Library 135783

CMoG 90.4.244 Gazelle Bowl (Steuben, Waugh)Steuben Division of Corning Glass Works

In January 1918, Steuben Glass Works became a division of Corning Glass Works. Frederick Carder remained head of the Steuben Division until 1932.

In 1933, Arthur A. Houghton, Jr., became the managing director of Steuben. Steuben started to focus on producing clear crystal--a departure from Steuben under Carder's direction.

In 1951, Steuben moved from downtown Corning to the Corning Glass Center complex, which also included the new Corning Museum of Glass, which allowed visitors to view parts of the production process.

Steuben continued production under Corning Incorporated in a building next to The Corning Museum of Glass until 2008. The year, Steuben was sold to the Schottenstein Stores Corp. of Columbus, Ohio, as part of the newly formed Schottenstein Luxury Group.

In 2011, the Steuben factory and New York store were closed. The Steuben brand was repurchased by Corning Incorporated.

Image: CMoG 90.4.244 Gazelle Bowl (Steuben, Waugh)

CMoG Hot Shop Amphitheater (formerly Steuben)Steuben Since 2013

In 2013, Corning Incorporated licensed The Corning Museum of Glass (CMoG) to oversee the production of new Steuben and to sell it in the Museum shop. All proceeds from the sale of Steuben support the Museum, a not-for-profit cultural institution.

In 2015, the original Steuben factory was extensively renovated to become the Amphitheater Hot Shop at CMoG. Read more about the Steuben/CMoG connection on the CMoG blog: "'On These Shoulders We Stand': Preserving Glassmaking Tradition in the Amphitheater Hot Shop" (March 19, 2015).

A more detailed timeline of Steuben history is available on the Steuben website (www.steuben.com/timeline).

Image: The Amphitheater Hot Stop, CMoG

Loading ...

Books About Steuben Glass

For digitized publications by Steuben Glass, see Steuben Publications under Steuben Glass Digital Collection (Rakow Library) on this page.

Steuben Glass Archival Collections

Constance Stuart Larrabee Steuben Exhibition Photographs and Documents, circa 1956 - 1999. MS 0090.
Link to collection overview and inventory.

Frederick Carder Papers.
Link to collection overview and inventory.

Steuben Oral Histories on our Oral History Research Guide

See a list of available Steuben Glass oral histories on our Oral Histories at the Rakow Library research guide.

Articles about Steuben Glass

Examples of Steuben Glass at the Corning Museum of Glass

CMoG 2003.4.60 Steuben Centerpiece Bowl

CMoG 2003.4.60 Steuben Centerpiece Bowl

CMoG 2004.4.184 Fish Decanter

CMoG 2004.4.184 Fish Decanter

CMoG 2002.4.27 Cologne Bottle with Stopper

CMoG 2002.4.27 Cologne Bottle with Stopper

CMoG 53.4.55 Iced Tea Glass

CMoG 53.4.55 Iced Tea Glass

CMoG 2009.4.1 Decanter with Silver Stopper

CMoG 2009.4.1 Decanter with Silver Stopper

CMoG 63.4.109 Pheasant

CMoG 63.4.109 Pheasant

CMoG 2006.4.239 Engraved Goblet

CMoG 2006.4.239 Engraved Goblet

CMoG 2010.4.48 Four-Piece Tableware Set in

CMoG 2010.4.48 Four-Piece Tableware Set in "Garfield" Pattern

Steuben Glass Digital Collection (Rakow Library)

The Rakow Research Library has the following digital collections related to Steuben Glass:

Steuben Glass Digital Collection

Steuben Glass Sub-Collections:
Steuben Glass Animal Collection Link Steuben Animals -- Digital material on Steuben glass animals.
Steuben Publications Link Steuben Publications -- Digitized trade catalogs, books, and more, published by Steuben Glass.

Steuben Records of Gifts -- Digitized records detailing Steuben items purchased by the President of the United States and other dignitaries to be used as presentation gifts.

Carder Steuben Glassware Photographs