LibGuides: The Local Glass Industry in Corning, NY: T. G. Hawkes &amp; Company

Thomas G. Hawkes & Company

A glass company based in Corning, NY, T.G. Hawkes & Co. (c.1880-1959) specialized in cutting fine brilliant cut glass and tableware. The company was established by Thomas Gibbons Hawkes (1846-1913). Born in Ireland, Hawkes immigrated to Brooklyn in 1862, and then moved to Corning to work for the Hoare and Dailey Cut Glass Firm. He opened his own cut glass firm in 1880. This firm, T.G. Hawkes & Co., soon became famous for quality wares. Hawkes' glassware was used in the White House from 1885 until 1938. In 1903, he brought Frederick Carder from England to establish the Steuben Glass Works.

See T.G. Hawkes & Co. glass in the Corning Museum of Glass Collection.

Trade Catalogs

View the Rakow Library's digitized collection of trade catalogs from T.G. Hawkes & Co.

Learn More

The Complete Cut and Engraved Glass of Corning by Estelle F. Sinclaire; Jane S. Spillman
Call Number: Stacks NK5112.54 .F24 1997
ISBN: 9780815604549
Publication Date: 1997
American Cut Glass Industry by Jane Shadel Spillman
ISBN: 185149250X
Publication Date: 1996
American Brilliant Period Cut Glass Advertisements by Robert J. Smith (Editor); Valerie K. Smith (Editor)
Call Number: Stacks NK5112.54 .A53 Book 2
ISBN: 9780937508022
Publication Date: 2003
T. G. Hawkes & Co. cut glass, 1880-1962: patents, advertisements, reprint of a ca. 1960 catalog by Felt, Tom.
Call Number: Secured Stacks, Uncataloged Trade Catalog Reprints, Range 47
Publication Date: 2007
"This was the last catalog to be issued by the company and came out at a time when it was struggling to overcome financial difficulties"
[Numerical pattern indexes]. by Miles, Paul.
Call Number: Stacks NK5112.54 .M64
Publication Date: [1993?]
Indexes 19 common cut glass books and trade catalogs which document brilliant cut glass. Primarily of Hawkes, Hoare, Libbey, and Fry; also Elmira.
The White House: its historic furnishings and first families. by Betty C. Monkman; Bruce M. White (Photographer); Wendell Garrett (Introduction by)
Call Number: F204.W5 .M74
ISBN: a0789206242
Publication Date: 2000
Water goblet and finger bowl by T. G. Hawkes & Company, Corning, New York, 1938 on blanks by Tiffin Glass Co., p. 215.

The Smithsonian Institution and American glass manufacturers 1917-1929 by Susan H. Myers
Publication Date: Journal of Glass Studies v. 51, 2009, p 176-197
Herigate in Glass: Sarah Sally Hawkes Thornton by D. Thomas O'Connor
Publication Date: Glass Collector's Digest, v. 4, no. 4, Dec 1990/Jan. 1991, pp. 10-11+
Thomas G. Hawkes and Brilliant Cut Glass Industry in America by Gwen White
Publication Date: The National Early American Glass Club, Pittsburgh Chapter, April 1992, pp. 2-7.

T. G. Hawkes &. Co. archive by T.G. Hawkes & Co.
Call Number: Secured Stacks: Archives
This archive contains material from T.G. Hawkes and Co. including: photographs, line drawings of ware, advertisements, magazines, brochures, Hawkes catalog pages, Hawkes templates, monogram rubbings and impressions, factory records-including payroll, financial and tax records, transfer sales journal, price books, ledger books, number books, notebooks, cash books, day books, an estate book, and personal correspondence.
Samuel Hawkes and Family Papers, 1890-1971 by Samuel Hawkes
Call Number: Secured Stacks: Archives
Publication Date: 1897-1931
The collection holds over 200 letters, from 1897 to 1931. These letters are between Samuel Hawkes and his wife, Sarah. Other letters include letters to Sarah from her mother, sister, grandmother and friends.
Samuel Hawkes was born on April 18, 1877, in Corning. He is the son of Thomas G. and Isidora Bissell Hawkes. The T.G. Hawkes & Co. firm had been started by his father and Samuel entered the firm in 1895. Samuel Hawkes became the second president and treasurer of T.G. Hawkes & Co.