LibGuides: The Local Glass Industry in Corning, NY: Local Cutters and Engravers

Local Cutters and Engravers

Examples of works by Corning-area cutters and engravers at The Corning Museum of Glass

Link to Corning Museum of Glass Object Record Page

Jug, Lee Carr (cutter and designer) and Hunt Glass Works, Inc., about 1911-1915, 62.4.40, gift of D. J. and Russell Carr.

Vase, George Haselbauer (engraver) and J.F. Haselbauer & Sons, 1911-1920, 78.4.6, gift of Mrs. Catherine Haselbauer Dencenburg.

Vase, George Barnes (engraver) and J. Hoare & Co., 81.4.49, gift of Mrs. Theodore Barnes.

Decanter with Stopper in "Queen" Pattern, Frank A. Clark (cutter) and T.G. Hawkes & Company, 1917, 83.4.42, gift of Robert Smith in memory of Bernice M. (Clark) Smith.

2 Decanters with Stoppers, Augustus Haselbauer (engraver) and Hoare & Dailey, about 1877, 83.4.161, gift of Mr. and Mrs. George M. Wyckoff, Jr.

Pitcher, Frederick Louis Bach, Sr. (engraver), and T.G. Hawkes & Company, 1919, 2002.4.122 A, gift of Dr. and Mrs. Frederick L. Bach.

Pitcher with Portrait of Thomas Hawkes, William Morse (engraver) and T.G. Hawkes & Company, 1913-1918, 2004.4.56, gift in part of Richard and Joan Randles, by exchange from Mrs. M. H. Riviere.

Vase with Engraved Ship, Joseph Sidot (engraver) and T.G. Hawkes & Company, 1930-1940, 2006.4.267, bequest of Paul Efron in memory of Beverly Efron.

Vase, Eugene Manning (cutter), about 1909, 2009.4.2, gift of Elsie Manning Randall in memory of her parents.

Kingfishers, Joseph Libisch, 1931, 2012.4.1, gift of Thomas Elmer in memory of Helen Libisch Elmer.

Tattoo Vase, Max Erlacher (engraver) and Steuben Glass Inc., 2008, 2008.4.79, gift of the artist and Steuben Glass.

Learn More

The American cut glass industry : T.G. Hawkes and his competitors by Jane Shadel Spillman
Call Number: Stacks NK5112.54 .S52a
ISBN: 9781851492503
Publication Date: 1996
Community Camera. Cut glass industry of Corning
Call Number: A/V Community Camera. Cut glass industry of Corning
Publication Date: 1984
DVD. In conjunction with The Corning Museum of Glass's 1985 exhibition of Carder glass, Jane Shadel Spillman, Curator of American glass, discusses with Prof. Walter Smith the evolution of the cut glass industry in Corning. This discussion includes reasons for the growth and development of the cut glass industry in Corning, including the role of Corning Glass Works, Hoare and other cut glass shops. Spillman also discusses and shows the Hoare scrapbook, a recent acquisition to the museum's library.
The Complete Cut and Engraved Glass of Corning by Estelle F. Sinclaire; Jane S. Spillman
Call Number: Stacks: NK5112.54 .F24 1997
ISBN: 0815627408
Publication Date: 1997

The Egginton Rich Cut Glass Works, Inc. interview with Lucy Egginton and Susan Egginton Altonen by Kenneth M. Wilson and Olive Wilson (interviewers), at the Egginton's home on First Street, Corning, New York, 3 Feb. 1972.
Lucille Egginton and Susan Egginton Altonen are daughters of Walter Egginton. Walter's father Oliver established the O. F. Egginton Company in Corning, New York in 1896.
Egginton Sisters Interview by Jane Spillman (interviewer), at the Egginton's home on First Street, Corning, New York, 24 July 1974.
A conversation/interview with sisters Lucille Egginton and Susan Egginton Altonen about their grandfather's and father's rich cut glass company, O. F. Egginton.
Eick sisters interview by Jane Spillman (nterviewer), Corning, New York, 24 July 1974.
An interview with daughters Florence and Evellyn, discussing the works of their father, Peter A. Eick, glass cutter and engraver in Corning, New York from 1912 until his death in 1935.
Floyd Manwarren interview by ane Spillman (interviewer) at the home/shop of Floyd Manwarren, Corning, New York, February, 1975.
Manwarren learned his trade at Ideal Cut Glass, worked for Steuben and other firms, and operated his own cutting shop. Background noise indicates he's cutting glass while being interviewed.
James Longwell interview by Estelle Sinclaire (interviewer), at the Veterans Hospital, Bath, NY, 24 May 1972.
According to Estelle Sinclaire, Longwell was a Sinclaire glassblower in the 1920s in Bath, NY.
Mrs. T.E. O'Brien, secretary of H.P. Sinclaire, interview by Kenneth M. Wilson (interviewer).
Publication Date: 1971
Mrs. T.E. O'Brien shares her memories regarding the glass cutting shops in Corning, NY: J. Hoare & Co., T.G. Hawkes & Co., H.P. Sinclaire & Co., Egginton & Company, Mullford's, George W. Drake, Thomas Hunt & Co., Almy & Thomas. Many of her recollections are from the years in which she was secretary for Mr. H.P. Sinclaire.

T.G. Hawkes & Co. archive.
Call Number: Secured Stacks, Archives
These records document a highly successful glass cutting firm in Corning, New York and the three generations of the Hawkes family that owned and operated the firm.
Nitsche & Son Glass Engraving Collection
Call Number: Secured Stacks, Archives
Publication Date: 1869-2013
This collection documents the work of two generations of glass engravers in Bohemia and in Corning, New York. It contains documentation of Josef Nitsche's and Clement Nitsche's work histories.
J. Hoare & Co. Scrapbook Collection
Call Number: Secured Stacks, Archives
Publication Date: ca. 1875-1920
The J. Hoare & Co. Scrapbook Collection is comprised of seven scrapbooks associated with the cut glass firm but received from various sources. Scrapbook contents include clippings, design inspiration, photographs, and silhouettes and templates of ware from J. Hoare & Co., Elmira Cut Glass Company, Gorham Manufacturing Company, Hunt Glass Co., John Illig, Libbey Glass Manufacturing Co., Pairpoint Glass Company, and many others.
[Notebook of a shipping clerk at the Hoare factory]
Call Number: Special and Rare Books TP853.N6 .H67 *
Publication Date: [1913-1915]
Scrapbook-type ledger with pasted-in information on clients and their requirements for invoices and bills of lading.
[Workers outside Hunt Glass Works cutting shop]
Call Number: Secured Stacks, Flat Files Unit 16, Drawer 7
Publication Date: [1897]
Photograph is of group of workers, a few posing for camera but most conversing among themselves, standing before Hunt Glass Works cutting shop.