Pyrex: Websites

Author of the book, Hot for Pyrex, Megan McGrady notes that her mission "is to help document and share rare and hard to find vintage Pyrex with the community - pictures, documentation, as well as the stories of the people who created and collect it."

Current makers of Pyrex for distribution in the US.

Three websites for Pyrex collectors to exchange information. Pyrex Collective I at http://pyrexcollective.blogspot.com. Pyrex Collective II at http://pyrexcollective2.blogspot.com. Pyrex Collective III at http://pyrexcollective3.blogspot.com/

Contains a lengthy listing of Pyrex patents, https://www.pyrexcollector.com/patents.php.

Michael Barber's website includes information about his books as well as a blog and pattern library.

Catalogue of images and information referencing patterns for Agee Crown Pyrex from Australia and JAJ Pyrex / Pyrex England from the United Kingdom. This reference site will specialise in opal Pyrex, produced from around the mid-1950s through to the mid-1980s.

The J. Walter Thompson Company (JWT), founded in 1864, is one of the largest enduring advertising agencies in the U.S. The J. Walter Thompson Newsletters digital collection comprises the agency's internally produced newsletters, which date from 1916 through 1986. The newsletter addressed issues of importance to the entire company, with articles on account news, client lists--or account gains and losses--and biographies and short notes on JWT staff, including professional accomplishments, promotions and transfers, visits to other JWT offices, and personal events

The house ads in this web project are taken from a section of the J. Walter Thompson Company Archives, the Domestic Print Advertisements Collection. The ads are preserved in chronological order up to the 1990s, when the agency's use of house advertising diminished or ceased. Covering a period of over 100 years, this collection usefully illustrates one agency'schoice of themes with which to promote itself to American and some international businesses.

Special Collections @ Virginia Tech Culinary History Blog

The origins of Pyrex ovenware.

Some highlights of Dr. Maltby's work with Corning's consumer products.

Interview with Rob Cassetti, moderator for the 2015 Seminar on Glass discussion with former Pyrex designers.

Developments during the 1920s

Introduction of flameware and other significant events.

Opalware production begins after WWII.

A timeline of Pyrex colors and patterns in this decade.

Introduction of Terra and other patterns.

Developments in opalware and clear Pyrex lines.

Collector Dianne Williams and the story of how her collection came to the Corning Museum of Glass

Corning's relationship with the J. Walter Thompson Ad agency.

Pyrex developments during the war years.

Design history of the Pyrex teapot.

Corning's innovative test kitchen.

Fun look at wedding-themed advertising for Pyrex.

Holiday ads, displays, and other marketing strategies.

Highlights of a few roles women played in the history of Pyrex.