Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives & Special Collections at the Rakow Library: Overview

The Rakow Research Library is the world's most comprehensive glass research library. What's in special collections and archives? Find out by using this guide.

Recent Blog Posts

Read about our collections and the latest news from Archives & Special Collections.

Loading ...

Rakow Research Library Hours

Open by appointment only

Phone and Appointment Hours:

Monday-Thursday
10:00am-4:00pm

Chat with a Librarian:

Monday-Thursday
10:00am-12:00pm, and
2pm-4pm

Research Consultations:

Hours vary. To see list of available appointment times, visit reserve.cmog.org.

Museum Hours:

See www.cmog.org.

Archives & Special Collections at the Rakow Library

The Rakow Library's archives and special collections encompass materials ranging from medieval manuscripts about glass to contemporary glass artists’ papers. The collections include rare books, manuscript collections, design drawings, batch books (glass recipe books), photographs, and ephemera, as well as historic records of The Corning Museum of Glass. Currently, the Library has over 210 manuscript collections documenting glass collecting, the production and industrial design of American glass decorative art objects, individual glass artists’ careers, archaeological excavations, and glass-focused organizations. 

Information on using archives and special collections in the Rakow Library may be found here:  https://libguides.cmog.org/plan

Find Answers to Your Glass Questions

Images from the Collections

This 3D model is Robert Sowers' design for All Saints Episcopal Church, Palo Alto, CA.

Search Library Collections and More