Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Contemporary Glass: Research Techniques: Websites

Tips for researching contemporary glass artists, history, and works

Contemporary Glass - Organizations with Comprehensive Links to Resources

The AACG website also includes links to lists of directories, schools, and services, along with other topic areas.

  • Member Directory. Includes information about glass artists worldwide. Artists usually include websites, contact information, and the types of glass they create.
  • Schools & Workshops. Includes information about universities, colleges, public access studios, private studios, and summer programs.
  • Museums & Organizations. Includes links to museums and organizations, organized by country, and broken down by state in the U.S.
  • GAS Digital Submission Guidelines. Includes tips for artists who want their photographs to look professional.
  • The Glass Art Society Journal. Covers the annual GAS conference with short papers from presenters. Current issues are included with GAS membership, as well as access to PDF versions of back issues. Nonmembers can purchase issues.

Some parts of the website are for members only, for example, GASnews provides profiles, conference coverage, news, and reports on research from the Rakow; The Thesis Shelf is a place where MFA and PhD students may publish their theses online.

To find additional professional glass societies, see the Art Alliance for Contemporary Glass Links to Organizations or contact the Rakow Library.

Studio Glass History

Selected Museums with Strong Glass Collections Highlighting Contemporary Glass

Explore, among other things, The Science of Glass.

Ebeltoft Glass Museum in Denmark has an international perspective.

The Toledo Museum of Art was the site for the first studio glass workshop. In 2006, the Glass Pavilion became home to its extensive glass collection. Their website gives a brief history of the Studio Glass Movement.

Stanislav Libenský and Jaroslava Brychtová, Red Pyramid, 94.3.10