Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contemporary Glass - Organizations with Comprehensive Links to Resources
Art Alliance for Contemporary Glass (AACG)
The Art Alliance for Contemporary Glass (AACG) – an organization for collectors – brings together invaluable links of interest. The links are kept up-to-date and makes accessible a wealth of information about contemporary glass and glassmakers. The following links can be especially useful:
The AACG website also includes links to lists of directories, schools, and services, along with other topic areas.
Glass Art Society (GAS)
Glass Art Society (GAS) – whose members include artists, collectors, and curators – provides extensive resources on their website:
- Member Directory. Includes information about glass artists worldwide. Artists usually include websites, contact information, and the types of glass they create.
- Schools & Workshops. Includes information about universities, colleges, public access studios, private studios, and summer programs.
- Museums & Organizations. Includes links to museums and organizations, organized by country, and broken down by state in the U.S.
- GAS Digital Submission Guidelines. Includes tips for artists who want their photographs to look professional.
- The Glass Art Society Journal. Covers the annual GAS conference with short papers from presenters. Current issues are included with GAS membership, as well as access to PDF versions of back issues. Nonmembers can purchase issues.
Some parts of the website are for members only, for example, GASnews provides profiles, conference coverage, news, and reports on research from the Rakow; The Thesis Shelf is a place where MFA and PhD students may publish their theses online.
American Scientific Glassblowers Society (ASGS)
ASGS offers training videos and a list of artists who do commissioned work. Many of their members create artwork.
Guild of Glass Engravers
This international society based in the UK provides information on its website about what glass engraving is, where you can learn glass engraving, where you can see examples of glass engraving, and and it provides member profiles of glass engravers along with images of their work.
International Society of Glass Beadmakers (ISGB)
The ISGB website features information about safety issues in flameworking studios (also useful for furnace or kiln workers) with an extensive bibliography for fire, respiratory, and eye safety as well as ventilation basics. (Look under ISGB Programs > Education > Safety.)
Stained Glass Association of America (SGAA)
Stained Glass Association of America publishes a free online “Sourcebook” with resources for artists and the public. The website also includes a History of Stained Glass. Other SGAA publications available for purchase from the site include a Reference and Technical Manual and an excellent review of historic and contemporary stained glass: The Story of Stained Glass.
To find additional professional glass societies, see the Art Alliance for Contemporary Glass Links to Organizations or contact the Rakow Library.
Studio Glass History
The Chronology and Bibliography of Studio Glass
The Chronology and Bibliography of Studio Glass combines highlights from Studio Glass history together with pivotal books, catalogs, periodicals about Studio Glass and individual artists.
Studio Glass Movement, Toledo Museum of Art
The Toledo Museum of Art was the site for the first studio glass workshop. Their website gives a brief history and an interview with Harvey Littleton.
Celebrating the 50th Anniversary Studio Glass, Art Alliance of Contemporary Glass
The year 2012 marked the 50th anniversary of the development of studio art glass in America. To celebrate this milestone and recognize the many talented artists involved, more than 160 glass demonstrations, lectures, and exhibitions took place in museums, galleries, art centers, universities, organizations, festivals, and other venues across the United States. The Art Alliance of Contemporary Glass provides highlights.
Selected Museums with Strong Glass Collections Highlighting Contemporary Glass
Explore, among other things, The Science of Glass.
Ebeltoft Glass Museum in Denmark has an international perspective.
The Toledo Museum of Art was the site for the first studio glass workshop. In 2006, the Glass Pavilion became home to its extensive glass collection. Their website gives a brief history of the Studio Glass Movement.
Stanislav Libenský and Jaroslava Brychtová, Red Pyramid, 94.3.10