Contemporary Glass: Research Techniques: Books and Catalogs

Table of Contents: Ch. 1. From art glass to the studio movement: Shifting terminology; Ch. 2. From factory glass to craft glass: Shaping a movement; Ch. 3. Proto-studio glass pioneers: Leading the way; Ch. 4. Critical mass: Aspiring to high art; Ch. 5. Marketing, exhibitions, and collecting: Spreading the word; Ch. 6. Dealers, galleries, and auctions: Creating the market; Ch. 7. A measure of success: Escalating prices; Ch. 8. Private and public patronage: Displaying a passion for glass; Ch. 9. Studio glass in the museums: Validating the collections; Epilogue. Glass becomes art.

Includes brief descriptions of techiques, numerous illustrations of stained glass and flat glass, as well as some glass sculpture.

"Featuring exquisite photos of 800 contemporary and historic works, this first-of-its-kind book reveals how the process of casting - pouring material into a mold - has transformed our world through its history and omnipresence. In these image-rich pages, craft, fine art, design, and everyday objects offer us perspectives on casting’s unique possibilities, its place in history, and its role in contemporary object creation. The book ...includes writings on casting as it relates to Art History (by Suzanne Ramljak), Ceramics (by Ezra Shales), Glass (by Susie Silbert), Large Metal (by Joe Becherer), Jewelry (by Jen Townsend), and Alternative Materials (by Elaine King). A multi-disciplinary approach including everything from traditional lost wax casting in non-ferrous metals to cast rubber, glass, porcelain, plaster, and some very unexpected materials makes this an essential resource for artists, craftspeople, historians, designers, and everyone interested in the objects that populate our world." Includes glass and works by glass artists.

Thesis (Ph. D.)--University of Southern California, 2000.

Includes artists' selected bibliographies and selected chronological bibliography of contemporary glass.

Introduction -- Glass in the twentieth century: An overview. Glass at the beginning of modernism; The origins and significance of the studio glass movement; Glass outside the studio glass movement -- Glass during modernism and postmodernism. Modernism and postmodernism; The complexity of glass; Glass and modernism; Henri Matisse and the Chapelle du Rosaire; Marcel Duchamp and the Bride Stripped Bare by Her Bachelors, Even; Glass and postmodernism; Modernism and postmodernism reconsidered; Glass: A true postmodern medium -- A history of myths, craft and the art of painting. The origin of glass: The beginning of a myth; Earliest history: From myth to magic; Roman glass: From magic to function; The Renaissance: More function and decoration; Stained glass: A different story; Glass, science and philosophy; Glass and the art of painting; Gerhard Richter: A link between past and present -- A scientific approach to glass. The definition of glass; The structure of glass; The complexity of glass; States of matter; Is glass a liquid or a solid?; The fourth state of matter? -- Glass in a contemporary context. A material immateriality; The interface between reality and virtuality; The real in-between and the glass/virtuality symbiosis; A new look at contemporary glass; Direct virtuality; Emotional virtuality; Rational virtuality; Historical virtuality; Virtuality -- Epilogue.

Highlights contemporary glass design workshops, designers, and glassblowers. Includes GlassLab (Domaine de Boisbouchet, France), Iittala (Nuutajärvi, Finland), Verreum (Nový Bor, Czech Republic), CIAV (Meisenthal, France), Glass Factory (Boda, Sweden), ESADSE (Saint-Just-Saint-Rambert, France), Nude (Denizli, Turkey), Royal College of Art (London), and more.

Table of Contents: "Junge Kunst mit viel Geschichte," Heidi Höhn; "Mit Technik und Konzept zum persönlichen Ausdruck," André Gutgesell; "Glasperlen und Glasschmuck in Geschichte und Gegenwart," Elias Schwegler-Juen; "Lampenglas: Kunst von heute, Kunst mit Zukunft," Heidi Höhn.

Exhibition at the Museum of American Glass at Wheaton Village. Foreword by Gay LeCleire Taylor.
Includes CMoG objects.

Focus on contemporary glass in American Museums.

Catalog commemorates the 50th anniversary of the birth of studio glass, showcasing works by Toledo Workshops participants as well as by the major artists working in the medium since. .... It focuses on the role of color--from the conceptual to the political to the metaphoric -- in artistic expression.