LibGuides: Contemporary Glass: Research Techniques: Overview

General Information about Finding Resources at the Rakow Library of The Corning Museum of Glass

Rakow Library Catalog
Search the Rakow Library Catalog for books, articles, images, and online resources relating to contemporary glass, studio glass, specific artists, etc.
Glass Article Index - Rakow Library
The Rakow Library currently subscribes to hundreds of journals, magazines, and newsletters, including many relating to contemporary art, art history, design, architecture, collectibles, and related subjects. The Glass Article Index includes citations and annotations for thousands of articles. It is not a full-text database, but once you have the information about articles you would like to read, you can find them at the Rakow or other libraries or request them via Interlibrary Loan.
Corning Museum of Glass
Search the CMoG website for “contemporary glass” to find blogs, articles, our glass dictionary, videos and much more
Rakow Library - Interlibrary Loan
The Rakow Library lends thousands of books and makes copies of articles available via Interlibrary Loan. (We do not loan videos.) For more information, please check this link.

Related LibGuides

The Rakow Library's Resource Guides (LibGuides) provide additional information about contemporary glassmaking techniques; for example, explore glassblowing, flameworking, kilnworking, beadmaking, coldworking, or view more specific guides for Venetian style glassblowing, color, and more.

Rakow Library Research Guides

Basic Vocabulary

An Illustrated Dictionary of Glass by Harold Newman
Call Number: TP788 .N55
ISBN: 0500232628
Publication Date: 1978
A Dictionary of Glass (2nd. Edition) by Charles Bray
Call Number: TP857 .B82
ISBN: 0713657928
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Glass : a pocket dictionary of terms commonly used to describe glass and glassmaking by David B. Whitehouse (Compiled by)
Call Number: NK5104 .W59 2006
ISBN: 0872901327
Publication Date: 2006 (rev. ed.)

Glass Dictionary - CMoG Website
Online dictionary of glass-related terms.

Find Answers to Your Glass Questions

Search Library Collections and More

Rakow Research Library Hours

Open by appointment only

Phone and Appointment Hours:

Monday-Thursday
10:00am-4:00pm

Research Consultations:

Hours vary. To see list of available appointment times, visit reserve.cmog.org.

Museum Hours:

See www.cmog.org.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a cooperative library service that allows you to borrow materials through your local library. For more information visit our ILL page or e-mail ILL@cmog.org.

Contemporary Glass: Research Techniques: Overview

Contemporary Glass Research Tips