Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hot Glass Sculpting at the Furnace: Archival Collections

Introduction to library resources on the technique of Hot Glass Sculpting at the Furnace and examples of sculpted work. More information is available through the library catalog or by using the Rakow's Ask a Librarian service.

Special Collections

Robert Willson Papers 1930-2000

Scope and Content Note

These materials document the creation of Robert Willson’s glass sculpture and his development as an artist.  A few early works on paper, dating primarily from his time in the Marines, are included.  The collection is especially rich in visual materials, including the sketches and design drawings from which Willson produced his sculptures, as well as slides, photographs and transparencies of the finished pieces.  Also of interest in this regard are the illustrated inventory lists, which include price and disposition information, as well as his correspondence with his Venetian partners discussing the sculptures. 

 Relating to the exhibition of Willson’s sculptures, the collection includes published catalogs, many containing additional notes by Willson, as well as correspondence and other materials produced during the organization of these exhibitions.*

The collection also includes Willson’s published and unpublished writings about glass and other topics, as well as published materials about himself and glass, collected by Willson.

 Finally, the papers contain some family and biographical information and photographs, most notably a memoir written by Willson in the early 1980s.  Beyond information included in the memoir, the collection contains only minimal information regarding his watercolor work, and still less relating to his work as a university professor.

Robert Willson. Ranch Doll; Guard 2001.3.34


 

 

Find Answers to Your Glass Questions

Search Library Collections and More