LibGuides: Itinerant Glassworkers: Special Collections & Archives

Handbills, Broadsides, and Advertisements

The Rakow Library has a number of handbills, broadsides, trade cards, and advertisements depicting itinerant glassworkers in our collection. Find records for many of these items in our online catalog.


Science and art: Prof. Owen, 1850. (CMGL 142780)	[Broadside for Madame Nora's original troupe of glassblowers], 1876? (CMGL 132079)	Second and positively last week of Woodroffe's original Bohemian glass blowers! [1876-1880] (CMGL 151258)	Curiosity highly gratified: Mr. Hermann, artist in glass, 1814. (CMGL 112177)

Images

The Rakow Library has a number of images depicting itinerant glassworkers in our collection. Find records for many of these in our online catalog.

[Glass steam engine on display]
Call Number: Secured Stacks - Flat Files Unit 36, Drawer 7
Publication Date: 1861
Tintype is of glass steam engine on exhibition; a man, likely part of Bohemian troupe of fancy glass blowers, is standing behind display counter.
[Charles Mapel flameworking before onlookers] by Marvin-Anderson Studios
Call Number: Secured Stacks - Archives Range 25, Bay 3, Shelf 5, Larry Williams collection, Box 1, Folder [3]
Publication Date: 1940s
Photograph features Charles Mapel flameworking before small audience at display counter. Counter is full of various glass objects including vases, ships, figurines, animals, and other decorative pieces. Shelves featured in background, also full of products. Charles' wife Edna is at left; she was born Edna Myers and is part of the Myers glass blowing family.
[Glass exhibition featuring spinning wheel and glass steam engine]
Call Number: Online only
Publication Date: 1904?
Mounted black and white photograph features a man and a woman, possibly F. A. Owen and his wife, behind a table display of glassware. The woman displays spinning wheel on left side of photograph and the man, at right, points to glass steam engine featured in center. The spinning wheel was used to spin glass to a flexible state; items such as glass bonnets were produced using such a method.
[John Deakin and his wife flameworking] by Robert H. Ford
Call Number: Secured Stacks - Archives Range 25, Bay 3, Shelf 5, Larry Williams collection, Box 1, Folder [1]
Publication Date: [1945-1957]
Photograph features Mr. and Mrs. John Deakin at work in their studio. Mrs. Deakin is at left and is holding long glass rod to flame in one hand with a large glass ship in other hand. Mr. Deakin is at right holding long glass rod as he blows into another piece. Mrs. Deakin is possibly Nona Howell of the Howell family glassblowers. A multitude of glass rods are spread across the table; glass objects are displayed on table as well, including vases, baskets, chairs, and tropical birds. Display case featured in background right.

Periodicals

The Rakow Library owns three original issues of a periodical called The Glass Blower, as well as a copy of a fourth issue from the Winterthur Library. The issues are, in chronological order:

The glass blower [volume III, number 1] by Editor Will R. Brown
Call Number: Secured Stacks - Flat Files Unit 31, Drawer 6
Publication Date: [1876]
Copy courtesy of Winterthur Library
The glass blower [volume III, number 2] by Editor Will R. Brown
Call Number: Secured Stacks - Flat Files Unit 31, Drawer 6
Publication Date: [1876]
Boston : American and Bohemian Glass Exhibition, [1876]
Eight page issue, majority of which includes self-promoting content related to the American and Bohemian Glass Exhibition (George and Charles Woodroffe and their troupe).
The glass blower [Vol. XXI No. 6849] by Editor Alfred Seabury
Call Number: Digital Document
Publication Date: 1888
Four pages from the February 7, 1888 paper entitled "The Glass Blower". Featured on cover are images of seven glass blowers, workers, and spinners including Madam Nora, Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Allen, William Woodroffe, A. Seabury, G. Newton, and Duncan C. Katen.
The glass blower [Vol XXI. No. 6894] by Editor Alfred Seabury
Call Number: Secured Stacks - Flat Files Unit 33, Drawer 6
Publication Date: 1889
This four page December 1889 issue of The glass blower advertises Madam Nora's Original Troupe of Glass Blowers, Workers and Spinners. Included also are endorsements, press notices, and information about the glass steam engine Excelsior and the fire engine Columbia.

Archival Collections

Larry Williams collection
Call Number: Secured Stacks - Archives Range 25, Bay 3, Shelf 6, Box 1
Publication Date: [1935-1970]
1 box. Previously in the collection of Larry Williams a retired lampworker from San Antonio, Texas. Larry Williams' archival collection of photos and clipings about various families of lampworkers between 1935 and 1970.
Includes individually cataloged items: CMGL 77821, 77822, 77823, 152145, 152150, 152152, 152161, 152162, and 152163.
[The Jay and Micki Doros collection of ephemera and documents concerning glass-related companies and subjects] : R.
Call Number: Secured Stacks - Archives Range 9, Bay 1, Shelf 6, Jay and Micki Doros collection, Box 5, Folder R
Publication Date: [1880-1905]
Two advertisement cards for Madam J. Reith's Troupe of American and Bohemian Glass Blowers. From the Jay and Micki Doros collection.

Other Collections

There are a number of libraries and archives with additional primary and secondary sources. While it would be impossible to include them all, here is a short list of additional places to consult:

Harry Ransome Center Circus Collection
The HRC Circus collection includes a number of handbills for P.T. Barnum's museum that mention the Woodroffes and other glassworkers.
The Library Company of Philadelphia
The LCP's online catalog, WolfPAC, includes records for a number of playbills for Woodroffe’s Original Bohemian Troupe of Glass Blowers.
Winterthur Museum Library
The library at the Winterthur Museum includes several materials related to itinerant glassworkers like the Woodroffes. Search their online catalog and digital collections for more.

Scott's Splendid Glass Working

Scott's splendid glass working exhibition in miniature, [1830]. (CMGL 138463)

Search Library Collections and More

Find Answers to Your Glass Questions

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a cooperative library service that allows you to borrow materials through your local library. For more information visit our ILL page or e-mail ILL@cmog.org.

Itinerant Glassworkers: Special Collections & Archives

Handbills, Broadsides, and Advertisements

Images

Periodicals

Archival Collections

Other Collections

Scott's Splendid Glass Working

Search Library Collections and More

Find Answers to Your Glass Questions

Interlibrary Loan

Rakow Research Library Hours

Open by appointment only

Phone and Appointment Hours:

Research Consultations:

Museum Hours: