Introduction to library resources on itinerant glassworkers, also called fancy glassblowers, traveling glassmakers, etc. More information is available through the library catalog or by using the Rakow's Ask a Librarian service.
The Glass Art Society Journal, (2016), pp. 49-51. Authors discuss the ininerant glassworkers & traveling troups who entertained by giving glassmaking demonstrations from the 17th century to the present.
Call Number: Online access only. See Reference Librarian for login.
Publication Date: 2017
From: GASnews, v. 28, issue 1 (Spring 2017), pgs. 18-19.
Glass steam engines, historical and contemporary, including information on George Woodroffe and Bandhu Dunham.
Skill of the Wandering Glass-Blowers
by Bea Howe
Call Number: VF: Glass types -- Glass friggers and novelties -- General and other
Publication Date: 1957
From: Country Life, v. 122, no. 3158, July 1957, pp. 159-160. Includes a first-hand account of an itinerant glassworker's performance, as well as mentions of several individual glassworkers. Also includes information on glasshouse employees who produce glass friggers/whimsies.
Country Life, 151, No. 3910, May 25, 1972 pp. 1332-1334 (see also VF Glass production - Great Britain - England - 18th century)
Lampworked miniatures and toys from the 19th and early 19th centuries. Includes information about early British glassmakers, including Mr. Grillet, E.L. Ward, J. Andrews, and T. Powell.
This bimonthly newsletter focuses on lampworking/flameworking. Early issues (1980s-90s) include articles about itinerant glassworkers who demonstrated at tourist attractions or traveled through the country.
Additional Library Resources
Glassmaking -- Lampworking -- History
Call Number: Vertical File: Glassmaking -- Lampworking -- History
This file contains information on the history of lampworking/flameworking, including articles on specific lampworkers (including Leigh/Lee Howell), Loeber, Pelouze, Olivier de Marche, and general topics.
This file contains information on glass whimsies/friggers - both those made by factory workers in their spare time and those made by itinerant glassworkers. Includes folders on: balls (garden crystal, gazing), canes, fire grenade bottles, fishing floats, rolling pins, target balls, witch balls, bogardus balls, general information, and more.
This file contains information on itinerant glassworkers, including Madam Nora, C.H. Carling, Lawrence Finn, Alex Fraser, W.L. Jukes, S. Owen, Madam J. Reith (or Rieth), J. Tilley, the Woodroffe family, and others. The file also contains Virginia Wright's notes on itinerant glassworkers, including her notes for the Curator's Choice presentation she gave in 1994 (see Videos for a recording).
Call Number: Secured Stacks - J. Stanley Brothers Collection: Glass decorating techniques: Lampwork: artists and firms (1878-1970)
Publication Date: 1878-1970
This file contains information on individual lampworkers including Leopold and Rudolf Blaschka, the Howell family, and Ronald Hansen. The file also contains information on firms doing lampwork, organized alphabetically.
Robert & Marie Howell
Robert M. Howell, Jr. and wife Marie Howell flameworking, . Larry Williams collection. (CMGL 152162)
Search our Catalog
Find Answers to Your Glass Questions
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a cooperative library service that allows you to borrow materials through your local library.