Microscopes: Books - 1900 to date

Includes Argand lamp, blown glass, crown bottle cap, Fiberglass, float glass, fluorescent lamp, Fresnel lens, glass, glass bottle-making machine, glass mirror, incandescent light bulb, laser, lens, magic lantern, microscope, neon lamp, oil lamp, oven-proof glass, sand
casting, sand blasting, spectacles, and much more.

Basic information for students and families. Photographs reveal flies' eyes, flu viruses, and individual atoms, while project ideas suggest how microscopes can be used to see everyday objects.

"Catalog of an exhibition held at the J. Paul Getty Museum from Nov. 13, 2001 through Feb. 3, 2002. Includes bibliographical references and index. "Modern media machines are the latest addition to a long line of captivating instruments for the augmentation of perception. In Devices of Wonder, Barbara Stafford weaves an array of such sense-extending inventions into a provocative analysis of the social and cultural intersections between old and new technologies. Complementing her wide-ranging investigation are Frances Terpak's thirty-one short essays tracking the complex and often surprising links among individual items. An unusual catalog for an unusual exhibition....: Magnifying glass balls: p. 22, 221.

Exhibit title: Singular beauty. Translated and edited by Eric Juillard. Includes bibliographical references (p. 293-295) and indexes. Parallel text in English and French.
Table of Contents:A collector's introduction / Raymond V. Giordano; Confluence Museum [Confluence Museum, Lyon, France] foreword / Bruno Jacomy; Essay on simple microscopes / Anthony Turner; About the Museum of Confluences; Collection catalogue.

"Snyder transports us to the streets, inns, and guildhalls of seventeenth-century Holland, where artists and scientists gathered, and to their studios and laboratories, where they mixed paints and prepared canvases, ground and polished lenses, examined and dissected insects and other animals, and invented the modern notion of seeing, ... [bringing] Vermeer and Van Leeuwenhoek--and the men and women around them--vividly to life"--Dust jacket flap.

Writing the history of "microscopy" in the twenty-first century / Marc J. Ratcliff, Dario Generali;
Incredibili visioni : Roma e i microscopi alla fine del '600 / Michela Fazzari; Microscopes made in Augsburg / Inge Keil; Antonio Vallisneri e la questione dei vermicelli spermatici : un'indagine storico-naturalistica / Francesco Luzzini; Abraham Trembley's impact on the construction of microscopes / Marc J. Ratcliff, Marian Fournier;
Microscope makers in eighteenth-century northern Italy / Alberto Lualdi; Testing microscopes between market and scientific strategies / Marc J. Ratcliff; Optical design in seventeenth-century Italian compound microscopes : a technical account / Francesco Andrietti; Malpighi e il microscopio della natura / Gianni Micheli; Personal styles in microscopy : Leeuwenhoek, Swammerdam and Huygens / Marian Fournier; L'uso del microscopio in Vallisneri / Dario Generali; "The most signal and illustrious instance of the use of the microscope": Benjamin Martin on the insect eye / Jutta Schickore;
Gli "animaluzzi" di Bonaventura Corti: microscopia spallanzaniana o alternativa d'eccellenza? / Maria Teresa Monti.

Edited by S. Bradbury and G. L'E. Turner.

Kataloge des Hessischen Landesmuseums ; Nr. 13.

"List of microscope-, telescope-, and other instrument-makers": p. 237-258.

"...In this superbly illustrated survey, Brian Ford unravels many strands in the development of scientific knowledge over the centuries, showing how the study of illustration provides a retrospective view of the conduct of research. The accuracy of illustrations from certain periods can be seen to reflect the contemporary status of a particular science, while in some cases identical images have recurred over the centuries. Comparison of derivative works with their predecessors is highly instructive, revealing a 'family tree' of images descended from a single original. By retracing some of these patterns, the author shows how discoveries have been incorporated into the body of knowledge and, equally important, how errors have been perpetuated and misinformation compounded. Photographs of the author's detailed recreations of some of the pioneering experiments of early workers such as Hooke and Leeuwenhoek supplement the many printed and manuscript examples. Drawing on a wealth of pictorial, biographical and bibliographical sources in The British Library and other major collections worldwide, and covering the whole range of scientific disciplines, Images of Science is a detailed and very accessible account of the development of scientific illustration from the works of the earliest civilizations to the dawn of modern science."
Table of Contents:1. Beginnings; 2. The hidden nature of mankind; 3. Illustrating the animal world; 4. Herbs, herbals and the birth of botany; 5. The non-living world; 6. Mankind in the world; 7. The world in space; 8. Hidden worlds, hidden purpose.

In the seventeenth century the microscope opened up a new world of observation, and, according to Catherine Wilson, profoundly revised the thinking of scientists and philosophers alike. The interior of nature, once closed off to both sympathetic intuition and direct perception, was now accessible with the help of optical instruments. The microscope led to a conception of science as an objective, procedure-driven mode of inquiry and renewed interest in atomism and mechanism. Focusing on the earliest forays into microscopical research, from 1620 to 1720, this book provides us with both a compelling technological history and a lively assessment of the new knowledge that helped launch philosophy into the modern era. (Studies in intellectual history and the history of philosophy)

Table of Contents:
Leeuwenhoek through history; Life and work; The specimen letters; Investigative microscopy; The findings; The development of the Leeuwenhoek microscope; Describing the instruments.

Instruments for mathematics, astronomy, navigations, horology, chemistry, physics, optics and medicine, as well as the instrument-making trade.
Includes: Prince Rupert's drops (p. 255-267), microscopes, spectacle-maker's company in London. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Table of Contents: Production and visibility of microscopes in the first half of the 18th century; The study of Animalcules at the turn of the 18th century; Insects, hermaphrodites and ambiguity; Towards marketing strategies for the microscope in the second half of the eighteenth century; Abraham Trembley, the polyp and new directions for microscopical research; The disputes over authority and microscopical observations; The quantifying spirit in microscopical research and ’keeping up’ with invisible objects; The emergence of the systematics of infusoria; From spontaneous generation to the limits of life: the microscopical experimentalist research from the 1760s to 1800.

Includes indexes. Bibliography: p. 172-178.