Adams, George. Essays on the microscope: containing a practical description of the most improved microscopes; a general history of insects, their transformations, peculiar habits, and oeconomy... illustrated with thirty-two folio plates, by the late George Adams. 2nd ed., with considerable additions and improvements by Frederick Kanmacher. London: Printed by Dillon and Keating for the editor, 1798. 2 v. (xvii, 724 p., 32 fold. leaves of plates). Notes: Includes instructions for making "glass globules", drops of glass used as magnifying lenses, and descriptions of early lampworking (p. 8-12). Notable acquisition 2009. BIB110118. Digital book: http://exhibitdb.cmog.org/opacimages/PDFs/Books/Rakow_1000078841.pdf
Location: Secured Stacks – Rare Books QH271 .A21 * 
Bachmann, Otto. Leitfaden zur Anfertigung mikroskopischer Dauerpräparate, von Otto Bachmann. München: Oldenbourg, 1879. vi, 196 p. Notes: Includes bibliographical references and index. A detailed treatise on the preparation of specimen slides for the microscope. Digital Bachmann http://hdl.handle.net/2027/mdp.39015064467858?urlappend=%3Bseq=5
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QH231 .B12 *
Baker, Henry, 1698-1774. Employment for the microscope, in two parts. Henry Baker. 2nd ed. London, R. and J. Dodsley, 1764. xii, 442 p., 17 folded plates. Notes: Contents same as 1753 ed. "I. An examination of salts and saline substances, their amazing configurations and crystals, as formed under the eye of the observer, with plain directions how to prepare such substances, and preserve them in constant readiness for inspection; whereby the curious may always be furnished with numberless objects hitherto little known. Also occasional considerations on gems, poisons, the vegetation of metals, the resuscitation of plants, the formation of amber, corals, and many other subjects. II. An account of various animalcules never before described, and of many other microscopical discoveries, with observations and remarks. Likewise a description of the microscope used in these experiments, and of a new micrometer serving to shew the size of magnified objects. Together with instructions for printing off any medal or coin." Notable acquisition 2012. Includes bibliographical references and index. BIB131395. Digital book: Baker http://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=nnc2.ark:/13960/t8sb4t97f;view=1up;seq=7
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QH271 .B16 1764 *
Balthasar, Theodor. Micrometria hoc est, de micrometrorum, tubis opticis, seu telescopiis & microscopiis applicandorum varia structura ac usu multiplici opusculum, cum observationibus astronomicis, tum & aliarum rerum dimensionibus plurimum inserviens. Theodoro Balthasaris. Christian-Erlangae Sumpt. J.A. Lorberi, Typis D.M. Schmatz, 1710. 120 p., [14] plates (some folded). Notes: Includes a description of Balthasar's invention of the solar microscope, sometimes wrongly attributed to J.H. Lieberkühn, in 1738 (from Duncan). Plates opp. p. 34 and opp. p. 40 considered for a proposed microscope exhibit. Duncan, 581. BIB66070. Digital book: Balthasar http://exhibitdb.cmog.org/opacimages/PDFs/Books/Rakow_1000061002.pdf
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QB113 .B19 *
Barlow, Peter. “On the construction of a fluid lens refracting telescope.” Philosophical transactions of the Royal Society of London 1833, pp. [1]-13. London Royal Society of London, 1833 ( Richard Taylor) 13 p. Notes: Read November 22, 1832. Originally published in Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1833. Signed: "M.Faraday Esq. from the author." Bound with Faraday's "Manufacture of glass for optical purposes" (CMGL c. 1) and with Joseph Jackson Lister's "On some properties in achromatic object-glasses applicable to the improvement of the microscope." BIB31853. Digital book: Barlow http://exhibitdb.cmog.org/opacimages/PDFs/Books/Rakow_1000063272_31853.pdf
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books TP862.O6 F21 * Location: Microforms F-2481
Beale, Lionel Smith, 1828-1906. How to work with the microscope. 5th ed. London Harrison; Philadelphia Lindsay and Blakiston, 1880. xvi, 518 p. Notes: BIB58964. Digital book: Beale http://exhibitdb.cmog.org/opacimages/PDFs/Books/Rakow_1000098985.pdf
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QH207 .B36 *
Bischoff, Johann. Neue Optische Beyträge haupsächlich zu Vergrösserungsgläsern und einigen merkwürdigen Vortheilen bey Fernröhren. Ulm, Frankfurt and Leipzig: Gaum, 1760 3 p.l., 69 p. Notes: First edition; copy from the library of Christian Ernst, Graf zu Stolberg with engraved bookplate. Bischoff (1716-79) was the author of several optical works. This book is concerned with the manufacture of optical lenses and the construction of microscopes and telescopes. BIB: 40709.
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare BooksUncataloged #723
Brewster, David, 1781-1868. A treatise on new philosophical instruments for various purposes in the arts and sciences. With experiments on light and colours. Edinburgh: Printed for Archibald Constable and Company; London Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme & Brown, 1813. xx, 427 p. Notes: Also available on microfiche: University Publications of America, 1980. (The Corning Museum Library of Rare Books. 18th-19th century; 0159), from Readex. (Microprint's Landmarks of Science.) BIB28339. Digital book: Brewster https://books.google.com/books?id=W01gAAAAcAAJ
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QC371 .B84 * Location: Microforms f-5757,
Couvreur, E. (Edmond) 1863-1926. Précis de microscopie. Paris: J.B. Baillière, [1888] 350, [2], 36 p. Notes: Originally published in 1888 as: Le microscope et ses applications à l'étude des animaux et des végétaux. The last 38 pages are advertisements for other books published by Baillière. CMGL has an 1896 printing, based on the publication dates in the book advertisements. Digital book: Couvreur: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/uc1.$b123184?urlappend=%3Bseq=11
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QH273 .C87 *
Description of the double reflecting microscope, made by P. and J. Dollond, opticians in St. Paul's Church-yard, London. [London s.n.], [177-?]. 4 p., [2] leaves of plates. Notes: One plate is a double-sided description of a double reflecting microscope; references are made to letters and numbers that correspond to those found on diagram provided on second plate. Notations have been written in black ink in margin of text. Second plate is copper engraved diagram of double reflecting microscope and is mounted on board. --Diagram features numerous details for parts of microscope with tripod design. A simple line border surrounds diagram. --From the 1750s, the Dolland family ran the most well-known optical instrument business in London. The double reflecting model dates from 1769-1804 when the brothers operated the microscope business. --The double reflecting microscopes constructed by the Dollands were similar to those created by John Cuff; Cuff, frustrated with the Culpepper type microscopes, created an instrument with improved focusing and a more accessible stage. Notable Acquisition 2013. BIB: 136560. Plates originally housed in frame stand; removed from frame stand November 2013. Digital content: http://exhibitdb.cmog.org/opacimages/PDFs/Books/Rakow_1000137337.pdf
Location: Secured Stacks - Flat Files, Call Number: Unit 25, Drawer 3
Euler, Leonhard. Dioptricae. St. Petersburg: Impensis Academiae Imperialis Scientiarum, 1769- 1771 3 vols.; 6 folding engr. plates, 2 pl., 337 pp.; 3 pl., 592 pp.; 4 pl., 440 pp. Notes: Euler's writings on optics were widely known and important in the physics of the 18th century. In these volumes, Euler "laid the foundations of the calculation of optical systems." Vol. 1 contains info. about theories of light; vol. 2, the construction of telescopes; vol. 3, microscopes. BIB45695. Digital book: Euler Vol. 1: https://ia601407.us.archive.org/6/items/dioptricaeparsp01rusgoog/dioptricaeparsp01rusgoog.pdfDigital book: Euler vol. 2: https://archive.org/details/dioptricaeparsp00rusgoog
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books Uncataloged #708
Exposition des produits de l'industrie francaise (5th: 1819 Paris, France). Rapport du Jury central sur les produits de l'industrie Francaise. Presente a S.E.M. le comte Decazes ; redige par M.L. Costaz. Paris Imp. royale, 1819. xxiv, 492 p. Notes: Includes index. Optics (glasses, microscopes) p. 258-262. BIB51561. Digital book: https://books.google.com/books?id=w9I1AQAAMAAJ
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books T799 1819 .E96 *
Faraday, Michael, 1791-1867. “On the manufacture of glass for optical purpose.” Philosophical transactions of the Royal Society of London 1830, pp. 1-57. [London] Royal Society, 1830. 57 p., 1 plate. Notes: The Bakerian lecture...read November 19, December 3 and 10, 1829. Extracted from the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1830. CMGL c. 1 bound with Joseph Jackson Lister's "On some properties in achromatic object-glasses applicable to the improvement of the microscope" and with Peter Barlow's "Construction of a fluid lens refracting telescope." CMGL c. 3 has a sheet inserted at p. 22-23: "Purification of lead, oxide of lead, red lead, carbonate of lead. All the oxide of lead was purified by being converted into a nitrate." On the verso is a reference to p. 22, no. 42. BIB31852. Digital book: Faraday: http://exhibitdb.cmog.org/opacimages/PDFs/Books/Rakow_1000063275.pdf
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books TP862.O6 F21 * / Location: Microforms: F-2833
Gage, Simon Henry, 1851-1944. The microscope and microscopical methods. 5th ed., rewritten, greatly enl. Ithaca, N.Y. Comstock Pub. Co., 1894. viii, 165 leaves, 1 plate. Notes: Includes bibliographical references (leaves [151]-156) and index. BIB99182. Digital book: Gage http://exhibitdb.cmog.org/opacimages/PDFs/Books/Rakow_1000054309.pdf
Location: Stacks QH207 .G13
Gleichen-Russwurm, Wilhelm Friedrich, 1717-1783. Mikroskopische Untersuchungen und Beobachtungen der geheimen Zeugungstheile der Pflanzen in ihren Bluten, und der in denselben befindlichen Insekten; nebst einigen Versuchen uber dem Keim, und einem Anhang vermischter Beobachtungen, beschrieben und mit Farben nach der Natur vorgestellt ... Nurnberg Verlag Raspischen Buchhandlung, 1790. 1 online resource ([6], 8, [4], 72, 40, [8], 26 p.). Notes: Reproduction of original from Osterreichische Nationabibliothek. Description based on print version record. "Beschreibung des zu diesem Werke erfundenem Universalmikroskops", includes col. plates I-V (six plates), 1st set. Notes: CMGL does not own a physical copy of this book. BIB130109. Digital book: http://books.google.com/books?id=wQ9JAAAAcAAJ
Goring, C. R., 1792-1840 and Pritchard, Andrew, 1804-1882. Micrographia: containing practical essays on reflecting, solar, oxy-hydrogen gas microscopes; micrometers; eye-pieces, &c. &c. by C.R. Goring and Andrew Pritchard. London: Whittaker, 1837, 231 p., 3 plates (1 folded). Notes: Notable acquisition 2012. BIB131396. Digital book: Goring: http://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/ptid=nyp.33433066366018;view=1up;seq=18
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QH211 .G66 *
Gravesande, Willem Jacob 's, 1688-1742. Physices elementa mathematica, experimentis confirmata: sive introductio ad philosophiam Newtonianam. Auctore Gulielmo Jacobo 's Gravesande. Editio tertia, duplo auctior. Leidae Apud J. A. Langerak, J. et H. Verbeek, Bibliop., 1742. 2 v. (lxxxvi, 1073, [43] p.). Notes: Title printed in red and black. Title vignette. Includes indexes. Book 5 is on optics: vision through glass: p. 810-819; microscopes and telescopes: p. 819-833, 858-873; reflected light: p. 833-840; experiments with mirrors: p. 840-858; magic lantern: p. 873-878. Some plates show glassware used in experiments. Volumes Owned: t.1-2. BIB99930. Digital book: Gravesande vol. 1 http://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=nyp.33433084033087;view=1up;seq=9
Digital book: Gravesande vol. 2 http://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=nyp.33433084033079;view=1up;seq=9
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QC19 .G77 1742 *
Grummert, Gottfried Heinrich. Beyträge zum Wachsthum der Natur- und Grössenlehre. Dresden; Leipzig: F. Hekel, 1747. 88 p., ii, i plates. Notes: Bound with 6 titles: Dissertatio inauguralis de microscopio solari et praesertim nova aliqua eiusdem constructione … Digital book: Grummert https://books.google.com/books?id=Y9FWAAAAcAAJ
Location: Secured Stacks – Rare Books QH211 .W64 * BIB114504
Hack, Maria, 1777-1844. Lectures at home discovery and manufacture of glass, lenses and mirrors, the structure of the eye, by Maria Hack. London printed for Darton and Harvey, 1834. xi, 211 p., 4 leaves of plates. Notes: BIB29427 Digital book: Hack https://books.google.com/books?id=Buir6nzBlgkC
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books TP857.3 .H11 * / Location: Microforms F-2504
Hertel, Christian Gottlieb, 1683-1743 and Marschall, John. Vollständige Anweisung zum Glas-Schleiffen: wie auch zu Verfertigung derer optischen Machinen, die aus geschliffenen Gläsern zubereitet und zusammengesetzt werden, nebst einer Vorrede Herrn Christian Wolffes. Halle im Magdeburgischen: Zufinden in der Rengerischen Buchhandlung, 1716. [xxxvi], 160 p., XX folded plates. Notes: CMGL c. 1 is disbound and has loose plates. BIB97614. Digital book: Hertel http://exhibitdb.cmog.org/opacimages/PDFs/Books/Rakow_1000083726.pdf
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QC375 .H57 1716 * / Location: Microforms F-5087
Hertel, Christian Gottlieb, 1683-1743. And Marschall, John. Vollständige Anweisung zum Glas-Schleifen, wie auch zu Verfertigung derer optischen Maschinen, welche aus geschliffenen Gläsern zubereitet und zusammengesetzt warden, Christian Gottlieb Hertel; nebst einer Vorrede [von] Christian Wolffs. Halle im Magdeburgischen: Zufinden in der Rengerschen Buchhandlung, 1758. 160 p., XX folded leaves of plates: ill. BIB97621.
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QC375 .H57 1758 * / Location: Microforms F-5105
Hoesen, J. P. and Hoesen, Peter. Kurze Nachricht von der Beschaffenheit und Wirkung derer parabolischen Brennspiegel so von Herrn Peter Hoesen, verfertiget werden, abgefasst von J.P. Hoesen. Dresden: F. Hekel, 1755. 15 p. Notes: Treatise on using parabolic mirrors with the solar microscope. Bound with 6 titles: Dissertatio inauguralis de microscopio solari et praesertim nova aliqua eiusdem constructione … and additional titles. BIB114503. Digital book: Hoesen https://books.google.com/books?id=4G8_AAAAcAAJ
Location: Secured Stacks – Rare Books QH211 .W64 *
Hooke, Robert, 1635-1703. Micrographia, or, Some physiological descriptions of minute bodies made by magnifying glasses, with observations and inquiries thereupon. London: Printed by Jo. Martyn and Ja. Allestry, Printers to the Royal Society, and are to be sold at their Shop at the Bell in S. Paul's Church-yard., 1665. [36], 246, [10] p., [38] leaves of plates (copperplate, some some folded); 31 cm. (fol.). Notes: Bib97628. Digitized and available through the Rakow Library’s online catalog: http://exhibitdb.cmog.org/opacimages/PDFs/Books/Rakow_1000060637.pdf
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QH271 .H78 1665 *
Hooke, Robert, 1635-1703. Micrographia, or, some physiological descriptions of minute bodies made by magnifying glasses, with observations and inquiries thereupon. London: Printed for John Martyn, 1667. [36], 246, [10] p., xxxviii leaves of plates (chiefly folded). Notes: This is probably the same ed. as the Allestry printing (Wing H2621A) with new t.p. (Allestry and Martyn were partners). BIB97629. Digital book: Hooke http://exhibitdb.cmog.org/opacimages/PDFs/Books/Rakow_1000060636.pdf
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books H271 .H78 1667 * /Location: Microforms F-5555
Ledermüller, Martin Frobenius, 1719-1769. Martin Frobenius Ledermüllers, Hochfürstlich- Brandenburg-Culmbachischen Justitz-Raths ... Nachleese seiner Mikroskopischen Gemüths- und Augen-Ergötzung, I. Sammlung, bestehend in zehen fein illuminirten Kupfertafeln, sammt deren Erklȁrung und einer getreuen Anweisung, wie man alle Arten Mikroskope, geschickt, leicht und nüzlich gebrauchen solle. Verlegt und in Kupfer gebracht, von Adam Wolfgang Winterschmidt ... [Nuremberg] Gedruckt auf Kosten des Verlegers von Christian de Launoy, 1762-1765. [16], 94, 20, 8 p., L leaves of plates. Notes: Notable Acquisition 2012. Includes an Anhang dated 1765 and Adam Wolfgang Winterschmidts, Beobachtung einer Stuben-Muke mit sehr viel kleinen Insekten; welche durch die Vergrosserungslinse no. 5 auf das Genaueste nach der Natur abgebildet ist, also dated 1765. Plates I, XII, XIX, XXX, XXXVII, XLII, and plate opposite Anhang p. 12 considered for a proposed microscope exhibit; these plates were photographed September 2012. (photography no. 1000120405). BIB130836. Digital book: Ledermüller http://exhibitdb.cmog.org/opacimages/PDFs/Books/Rakow_1000120405.pdf
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QH271 .L47 *
Ledermüller, Martin Frobenius, 1719-1769. Physicalische Beobachtungen derer Saamenthiergens, durch die allerbesten Vergrösserungs-Gläser und bequemlichsten Microscope betrachtet: und mit einer unparthenischen Untersuchung und Gegeneinanderhaltung derer Buffonischen und Leuwenhoeckischen Experimenten in einem Sendschreiben: mit denen hierzu gehörigen Figuren und Kupfern einem Liebhaber der Natur-kunde und Warheit mitgetheilet, von M.F.L. Nürnberg: Bei George Peter Monath, 1756. 28 p., 8 folded leaves of plates: ill. Notes: Bound with: Dissertatio inauguralis de microscopio solari et praesertim nova aliqua eiusdem … BIB114505. Digital book: Ledermüller https://books.google.com/books?id=5qZMAAAAcAAJ
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QH211 .W64 *
Leeuwenhoek, Antoni van, 1632-1723. Send-brieven zoo aan ... de Koninklyke societeit te Londen : als aan andere aansienelyke en geleerde lieden, over verscheyde verborgentheden der natuure, namentlyk over het wonderlyk gestel van de veselen der spieren in veelderley gedierte; de pesen en derselver werking ... door Antoni van Leeuwenhoek ... Delft: A. Beman, 1718. 8 preliminary leaves, 460, [28] pages, [31] plates (some folded). Contains letters I-XLVI dated Nov. 8, 1712-Nov. 20, 1717. BIB165071 NEW
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books Call Number: H9 .L48 1718 *
Lister, Joseph Jackson, 1786-1869. On some properties in achromatic object-glasses applicable to the improvement of the microscope, by Joseph Jackson Lister, communicated by Dr. Roget, secretary. Read January 21, 1830. Philosophical transactions of the Royal Society of London 1830, pp. 187-200. [London] Royal Society of London, 1830. p. 187-200. Notes: Extracted from Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1830. Bound with Faraday's "Manufacture of glass for optical purposes" (CMGL c. 1) and with Peter Barlow's "The construction of a fluid lens refracting telescope". Notes: In c. 1; bound with two other titles. BIB31405. Digital book: Lister http://exhibitdb.cmog.org/opacimages/PDFs/Books/Rakow_1000063272_31405.pdf
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books TP862.O6 F21 * / Location: Microforms f-2480
The London Chronicle, Vol. XXIII, No. 1762, March 31 to April 2, 1768. Note: Report concerning microscope glasses by Father Di Torre of Naples. In digitization queue as of September 30, 2015.
Location: Secured Stacks - Documents 143218
Meyen, Joachim Friedrich. Kurzer Unterricht von der Beschaffenheit und dem Gebrauch der Vergrösserungsgläser und Teleskopien. Dresden; Leipzig: Bey Friedrich Hekel, 1747. 72 p., vii leaves of plates (some folded): ill. Notes: Bound with: Dissertatio inauguralis de microscopio solari et praesertim nova aliqua eiusdem constructione…BIB114461 Digital book: https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=Ka9TAAAAcAAJ
Location: Secured Stacks QH211 .W64 *
Molyneux, William, 1656-1698. Dioptrica nova a treatise of dioptricks, in two parts, wherein the various effects and appearances of spherick glasses, both convex and concave, single and combined, in telescopes and microscopes, together with their usefulness in many concerns of humane life, are explained, by William Molyneux. London printed for Benj. Tooke, 1692. [16], 301, [3] p., 43 leaves of plates (most folded). Notes: "Ex visibilibus invisibilia." With an errata and a final advertisement leaf. First edition of the first treatise on optics published in English, later reprinted in 1709. "Appendix" by Edmond Halley (his Doctrine of the foci of spherical glasses of all sorts, exposed either to diverging, converging, or parallel rays): p. 295-301. "The first part presented 59 propositions on geometrical optics, providing a thorough treatment of the nature of sight and the properties of lenses, telescopes, microscopes, and magic lanterns. The second part consisted of a series of chapters on topics including refraction and light, glasses for defective eyes, and telescopic instruments. In treating refraction, Molyneux highlighted Leibniz's seminal essay of 1682, which marked the beginning of the famous dispute about the principle of least action, or Fermat's principle. He warmly approved of Leibniz's refutation of Descartes' explanation of refraction, and embraced the German's doctrine of final causes. Refraction and the finite velocity of light led Molyneux to conclude that 'Light is a body'. For certain propositions Molyneux gave the solutions of Flamsteed in addition to his own, but the publication led to a breach between the two, with Flamsteed taking offence probably because the manuscript was not shown to him before publication but entrusted instead to his rival Halley"--Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. The second part (p. 185-301) includes chapters Of refraction and light; A dioptrick problem; Of glasses for defective eyes; Of mechanick dioptricks; Of telescopick instruments; Of the invention of optick-glasses, discoveries made by them, and other applications of them; An optick problem of double vision. Handwritten notes on leaf following advertisement. Wing (CD-ROM, 1996), M2405; ESTC (RLIN), R003440. BIB96905.
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QC353 .M73 1692 *
“Optique.” [Diderot]. [S.l. s.n., n.d., 1770-1779?] vi plates. Notes: Plate descriptions on p. 8. In CMGL collection as part of Diderot. Includes lenses, magic lantern, simple microscopes, mirror reflection, and telescopes. BIB133966. Digital images: http://exhibitdb.cmog.org/opacimages/PDFs/Books/Rakow_1000129503.pdf
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books (Oversized) T9.D55 Sciences O *
Passemant, Claude Siméon, 1702-1769. Construction d'un télescope de réflexion de seize pouces de longueur, faisant l'effet d'une lunette de huit pieds, et de pluisieurs autres télescopes ... avec la composition de la matiere des miroirs, & la maniere de les polir & de les monter. On y a joint un traité de lart de faire facilement des grands verres objectifs, les oculaires & des lentilles de différens foyers, avec la construction des lunettes & des microscopes, & leurs principaux usages. Paris Chez Philippe-Nicolas Lottin, 1738. viii, 132 p. Notes: Construction and use of Newton's reflecting telescope and other kinds of telescopes; grinding and polishing lenses; construction and use of eyeglasses and various microscopes. Passemant (1702-69) designed and made optical instruments in France. Notable Acquisition. Barbier, 2885; Poggrndorff, II, 372. BIB45492. Digital book: https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=t2E_AAAAcAAJ
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QB88 .P28 *
Passemant, Claude Siméon, 1702-1769. Description et usage des télescopes, microscopes, ouvrages et inventions. Paris [s.n.], 1763. 94 p., 1 folded leaf of plates. Notes: "Passement [sic] (1702-1769) was one of the outstanding designers and makers of optical instruments in France during the first half of the 18th century. In this book, he describes the construction and use of Newton's reflecting telescope and many other kinds of telescopes. Later chapters deal with the construction and use of eyeglasses, grinding lenses, various microscopes, astronomical instruments, and barometers." Describes construction and use of telescopes, eyeglasses, various microscopes, astronomical instruments, and barometers. Notable acquisition 2000. BIB63970.
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books Uncataloged #777
Persius. Persio: tradotto in verso sciolto e dichiarato da Francesco Stelluti. Roma: G. Mascardi, 1630. [22], 218, [20] p. Notes: Title page engraved by Mathaeus Greuter. Engraved illustrations (12 figures), including the anatomy of the bee (p. 52) and one of the weevil (p. 127) which are “the first illustrations prepared with a microscope that were set forth in a printed book.” Includes indexes. Latin text and Italian translation of the Satires on facing pages, with commentary below. T.p., p. 52, & p. 127
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books PA6555 .I8 1630 *
Processo verbale della distribuzione de'premj per l'annuo concorso delle arti e de'mestieri nel di 15 agosto 1812 coll'estratto degli atti dell'istituto reale delle scienze, lettere ed arti e con nalogo discorso di S.E. il signor conte Ministro dell'Interno. Atti dell'Istituto reale delle scienze, lettere ed arti. Milano Stamperia Reale, 1812. 53 p. Notes: Giambatista Amici, known for his microscopes, won a gold medal for a telescope and microscope (p. 17-18). Francesco Padovani won a silver medal for his glass beads (p. 27); Pernici e Bolognini won a silver medal for a crystal vase (p. 25). BIB88377.
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books T744 .P96 1812 *
Redi, Francesco. Francisci Redi patricii Aretini, Opusculorum pars prior, sive, Experimenta circa generationem insectorum: accedit J. Frid. Lachmund, De ave diomedea dissertatio. [Selections. Latin. 1685]. Amstelaedami: Apud Henricum Wetstenium, 1685-1686. 2 v. Notes: Table of Contents: v. 1. Experimenta circa generationem insectorum. Accedit appendicis loco: J.F. Lachmund De ave diomedea dissertation; v. 2. Experimenta circa varias res naturales, speciatim illas quae ex Indiis afferuntur Observationes de viperis; Epistola de quibusdam objectionibus contra suas de viperis observations; Observationes circa illas guttulas & fila ex vitro, quae rupta in quaecunque sui parte, dissiliunt & comminuuntur.
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QH41 .R31 1685 *
Scherffer, Karl. A translation of Scherffer's treatise on the emendation of dioptrical telescopes... [Translated by Rev.] Samuel Hardy. London: G. Pearch, 1768. 47 p. + 1 pl. Notes: Rev. Samuel Hardy's translation of Scherffer's Diss. De emendatione telescopii dioptrici per vitrum objectivum compositum recens a Dollondo in anglia inventa (1762). "Dolland's Theorem is Synthetically and Analytically demonstrated, --extended to Glasses of various kinds, and applied to microscopes; several methods for determining the different refractive powers of different kinds of glass are explained; and tables are given for finding the proper radii of concavity and convexity for any compound glass of a given focus."
Location: Secured Stacks: Rare Books Special Uncataloged 779
Thomin, Marc Mitouflet. Traité d'optique mechanique: dans lequel on donne les régles & les proportions qu'il faut observer pour faire toutes sortes de lunettes d'approche, microscopes simples & composés, & autres ouvrages qui dépendent de l'art ; avec une instruction sur l'usage des lunettes ou conserves pour toutes sortes de vûes.... A Paris: Chez Jean-Baptiste Coignard; Antoine Boudet, rue S. Jacques, MDCCXLIX [1749]. xij, 372, [4] p., 4 folded leaves of plates. ote: Engraved title vignette. Tomin, Digital Book: http://exhibitdb.cmog.org/opacimages/PDFs/Books/Rakow_1000060847.pdf
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QC371 .T46 *
Toffoli, Bartolomeo, 1755-1834. Delle lenti microscopiche e di una nuova macchina per formarle: memoria, del D. Bartolomeo Toffoli. IN: Atti della Società patriotica di Milano t. III, 1793, pp. 376-391. [Milano]: [nell' Imperial Monistero di S. Amrrogio Maggiore], [1793] pages 376-391, plates xi-xii: illustrations. Notes: Extract from: Atti della Società patriotica di Milano, t. III (1793). Lathe for grinding microscope lenses, invented by the author in 1790. This work was translated into German in 1796 by Gottfried Huth: Beschreibung der neuen optischen Schleif-Mühle des Abts D. Bartolomeo Toffoli mittelst welcher alle Arten Glas-Linsen leicht und in kurzer Zeit augs genau-este geschliffen werden können. Includes bibliographical references. BIB145419. Digital book: Toffoli https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=1C9XAAAAcAAJ
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QC375 .T64 1793 *
Trembley, Abraham, 1710-1784, author. Mémoires pour servir à l'histoire d'un genre de polypes d'eau douce, à bras en forme de cornes, par A. Trembley. Leide: Chez Jean & Herman Verbeek, 1744. xv, [1], 324 [1] pages, 13 folded leaves of plates. Notes: Illustrated by C. Pronk, J.v. Schley and P. Lyonet. Table of Contents:Premier mémoire. Ou l'on décrit les polypes, leur forme, leurs mouvements, & une partie de ce qu'on a pu découvrir sur leur structure; Second mémoire. De la nourriture des polypes, de la maniére dont ils saisissent & avalent leur proie, de la cause de la couleur des polypes, & de ce qu'on a pu découvrir de plus sur leur structure. Du tems, & des Moïens les plus propres, pour trouver des polypes; Troisième mémoire. De la génération des polypes; Quatrième mémoire. Opérations faites sur les polypes, & les succès qu'elles ont eus. Online digital copy Trembley: http://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/item/130183#page/6/mode/1up
Secured Stacks - Rare Books Call Number:QL377.H9 .T78 1744 *
Watkins, Francis. L'exercise du microscope: contenant un abrege de tout ce qui a ete ecrit par les meilleurs autheurs touchant les objets les plus curieux, avec les precautions qu'on doit prendre pour faire les observations avec succes; auquel est ajoute la description d'un microscope, qu'on peut appeller universel, d'autant qu'on y trouve les proprietez de toutesles differentes sortes qui ayent encore parues, construit sur un nouveau plan par Francois Watkins. A Londres: imprime pour Francois Watkins, 1754. [10], 97 p. Notes: "Les descriptions des objets etant pour la plupart tirees des ecrits de Mr. Baker, le plus célèbre autheur, lesquelles j'ai tache de reduire dans l'ordre le plus convenable pour ceux qui ne sont que peu accoutume a l'usage du microscope"--Au lecteur. BIB 97121. Digital book: Watkins http://exhibitdb.cmog.org/opacimages/PDFs/Books/Rakow_1000060852.pdf
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books QH211 .W33 *
Wiedeburg, Johann Ernst Basilius. Beschreibung eines verbesserten Sonnen-Microscops. Nürnberg: bey Georg Bauer, 1758. 44 p., [2] folded plates. Notes: Bound with: Dissertatio inauguralis de microscopio solari et praesertim nova aliqua eiusdem constructione … Digital book: Wiedeburg https://books.google.com/books?id=36ZMAAAAcAAJ
Location: Secured Stacks – Rare Books QH211 .W64 *
Wiedeburg, Johann Ernst Basilius and Lang, Lorenz Johann Jacob. Dissertatio inauguralis de microscopio solari et praesertim nova aliqua eiusdem constructione: cuius sectionem priorem in Alma Academia Fridericiana ..., praeses Ioannes Ernestus Basilius Wideburg et respondens Laurentius Ioannes Iacobus Lange. Erlangae, 1755. 24 p. BIB114499.
Location: Secured Stacks – Rare Books QH211 .W64 *
Zahn, Johann, 1641-1707. Oculus artificialis teledioptricus sive telescopium: ex abditis rerum naturalium & artificialium principiis protractum novâ methodo, eaque solidâ explicatum ac comprimis e triplici fundamento physico seu naturali, mathematico dioptrico et mechanico, seu practico stabilitum ; opus curiosum theorico-practicum magna rerum varietate adornatum, omnibus artium novarum studiosis perquam utile: quo philosophiae atque mathesi praesertim mixtae, nec non universo pene hominum statui amplissimis adjumentis consulitur ; nova plurima abstrusa curiosa technasmata recluduntur, ipsaque ars telescopiaria facillime addiscenda, ac sumptibus non adeo magnis in praxin adducenda proponitur, adeoque telescopium ex tenebris in lucem Asseritur, authore Joanne Zahn ... Editio secunda, auctior. Norimbergae: Sumptibus Johannis Christophori Lochneri bibliopolae; typis Johannis Ernesti Adelbulneri, anno MDCCII [1702]. [40], 414, 399-778, [1], 770-797, [17] p., [12] folded leaves of plates and tables. Notes: With an additional engraved illustrated title page. "Includes the first complete history of early microscopes"--Garrison-Morton. Text is continous despite pagination; the page following p. 778, first series, is numbered '796'. Title page printed in red and black. Wood-cuts and engravings throughout text. Head- and tail-pieces; historiated initials. Includes index. Includes illustrations of optical instruments, including telescopes, microscopes, and an early projector. Garrison-Morton (5th ed.) 263 Wellcome cat. of printed books, V, p. 284 Blake, J. NLM 18th cent., p. 49897113. BIB97113. Digital book: Zahn https://books.google.com/books?id=wvtlAAAAcAAJ
Location: Secured Stacks - Rare Books (Oversized) QC353 .Z19 1702 O *
Displayed in the exhibition titled 'Revealing the Invisible: the History of Glass and the Microscope', held at the Rakow Research Library, April 23, 2016-March 19, 2017.
Opusculorum pars prior, sive, Experimenta circa generationem insectorum [Experiments on the generation of insects] (Amsterdam, 1685). Francesco Redi.
Vollstandige Anweisung zum Glas-Schleiffen [Complete instructions of glass grinding, as well as instructions for making optical equipment] (Halle, 1716). Christian Gottlieb Hertel
