Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tiffany's Glass Mosaics: Tiffany Studios

This is a selective guide to resources related to the Corning Museum of Glass exhibition, Tiffany's Glass Mosaics. For additional information, you may search the catalog or use our Ask a Librarian service.

Archives

Arthur J. Nash and Leslie H. Nash collection on Tiffany Studios

The collection consists of personal formula notebooks and papers belonging to Arthur J. Nash and Leslie H. Nash, relating to their work for Louis C. Tiffany. The bulk of the collection comes in the form of notebooks and journals with formula, including written keys to formula and information on glassmaking. The journals, notebooks, and booklet, “L. H. Nash. Examples of recent work from the studio of Louis C. Tiffany” contain handwritten notes by Arthur J. Nash and Leslie H. Nash which provide an insight into their relationship with Louis C. Tiffany. Access to this collection is by request.

Jeffrey Rush Higgins collection on Frederick Wilson

This collection contains correspondence, photographs, ephemera and biographical information dated 1885 - 1990, two scrapbooks, circa 1892-1932, and original artwork (1887-1930) by Frederick Wilson such as watercolors and sketches as well as photographs of his design drawings for windows. Frederick Wilson (1858-1932) worked briefly for Alfred Godwin and Company, a stained glass studio in Philadelphia, and in 1893 he began working for the prestigious glass designer Louis Comfort Tiffany at his studios in New York City. The ecclesiastical designs he created were successfully transformed into the opalescent stained glass windows favored by churches at the turn of the century. Out of the team of religious window designers employed by Tiffany, “Wilson emerged as the most gifted, prolific and long-serving.” He was appointed head of the ecclesiastical department at Tiffany Studios in 1899 and continued working for Tiffany until 1923 when he and his family decided to move to Los Angeles, CA. In California, Wilson worked for The Judson Studios, which was one of the most prominent stained glass studios on the West Coast. He remained there until his death in 1932.

 

Works of Art on Paper

Web Resources

Tiffany Census 

 

This is a project to create a census of Tiffany "stained glass" windows, mosaics and other glass-related items, which are located in what could be considered to be publicly viewable buildings, mainly churches.

 

Louis Comfort Tiffany Chronology 

This website, created by the Morse Museum, brings together the documented facts of his life from various sources that include books, articles, contemporaneous accounts and records, as well as our own archival material. The Chronology is intended to be authoritative. It is currently as thorough a chronological listing of the basic facts of Tiffany’s personal and professional development as exists. The Chronology is a living document that is refined, and if necessary corrected, regularly as research unfolds.

Find Answers to Your Glass Questions

Search Library Collections and More