Flameworking/Lampworking

Excavations of a bead workshop at M50.14-.16 in the Main City South Buildings M50.14-16, initially excavated by C. L. Woolley on behalf of the Egypt Exploration Society in 1922, were re-excavated by Anna Hodgkinson and team in October and November 2014. The project was planned after an area of vitrified mud-brick debris was discovered on the surface of M50.14, an indicator of high-temperature industries. Woolley originally described it as a workshop for the manufacture of glass and faience objects:

Start at 13:33 to see Gudenrath create glass tubing and blow a bubble.
More info: https://blog.cmog.org/2015/06/09/invention-in-early-glassblowing-the-road-to-ennion-with-bill-gudenrath/

From: JOURNAL OF GLASS STUDIES, vol. 57 • 2015

Article in Gudenrath's e-book The Techniques of Renaissance Venetian Glassworking.

Full text images of the Chemistry plates.
"Chemistry." The Encyclopedia of Diderot & d'Alembert Collaborative Translation Project. Ann Arbor: Michigan Publishing, University of Michigan Library, 2010. Web. [fill in today's date in the form 18 Apr. 2009 and remove square brackets]. . Trans. of "Chimie," Supplément à l'Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métiers, vol. 3 (plates). Paris, 1765.

Full text (pdf) of Micrographia

Article does not include lampworking or beadmaking

Includes images of two Diderot prints

Links to images and information about scientific glass instruments made by the Accademia del Cimento and others, in the collection of Museo Galileo, Florence, Italy.

pdf link to Natural Experiments by the Accademia del Cimento

Article about the book in the Rakow Research Library

Brief history of Venetian glass. Website also includes the museum's catalog. "The online catalogue offers access to the significant historical, artistic and natural heritage database preserved in the Venice Civic Museums:https://museovetro.visitmuve.it/en/catalogo-opere/. It is possible to search just the Glass Museum collections.

Drawn beads (not lampworking) - bead stringers in Venice. Painting in the Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo, NY

E-book presents complete reconstructions of Venetian glassmaking techniques through detailed photography and high-definition video.

Video in Gudenrath's The Techniques of Renaissance Venetian Glassworking

"Austria" includes Archduke Ferdinand II of Austria and lampworking

Video is part of Gudenrath's Techniques of Renaissance Venetian Glassworking.

The eye and art, in: Art eyes - eye art. ed. by Günter Schlüter & Antje Vanhoefen. Lauscha 2010, pp. 58–65