René Lalique: Archives and Special Collections

This archive was asssembled by Glenn and Mary Lou Utt. The archive is the result of over four decades of collecting.
This archive holds 1331 transparencies, 1009 photographs and 287 slides. Most of these images are of Lalique perfume bottles but there are also some non-perfume Lalique items. There are books; "Lalique Perfume Bottles, The Search for the Lost Treasures," Mary Lou and Glenn Utt, 2002; "Lalique Perfume Bottles," Mary Lou and Glenn Utt with Patricia Bayer, 1990; "Les Flacons Lalique, A Parfum," Mary Lou and Glenn Utt with Patricia Bayer (French edition of Lalique Perfume Bottles), 1991. There are a number of articles from the 1900’s in French, English and German, four periodicals and three letters. Other items are advertisements, clippings, exhibition brochures, flyers, postcards, posters and price lists. There is a Lalique trade catalog, "Catalogue Des Verreries De René Lalique" and copies of other catalogs. There is also a copy of a French directory of a mall in France called "La Rue de la Paix," that includes the perfume stores.

Slides of Lalique objects loaned by author and collector Nicholas Dawes and digitized by the Rakow Research Library.

This collection of approximately 1,633 items is broad in scope, covering glass tableware (pressed and cut), stained glass, window glass, lamps, and novelties (for example, glass caskets), American and foreign. The varied topics and types of glass provide unusual details of making and selling by manufacturers, retail organizations, and importers. Includes a folder of Lalique-related materials.